The capital city’s top young talent are set to benefit from a new £2.5million extension at Edinburgh Napier University’s Sighthill campus, host and partner of the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy in Edinburgh.

Work began in the winter of 2015 on a new two-storey sports centre extension that will host a multi-use strength and conditioning gym, rehabilitation space and studio research facility.

As well as providing the academy players with a fully-equipped, state-of-the-art gym and rehab spaces – including a 30 metre running track on the ground floor – a second-level studio facility will provide an area where students and academic staff can undertake research projects.

The University already boasts one of the UK’s leading biomechanic labs, which includes an exercise physiology lab, and features an environment chamber that simulates altitude, humidity, and hot and cold conditions.

Stage three (full-timeplayers: Jack Blain (Heriot's), Connor Boyle (Watsonians), Rufus McLean (Watsonians) Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies), Dan Winning (Boroughmuir), Duncan Ferguson (Watsonians), Ross Dunbar (Boroughmuir), Callum Atkinson (Boroughmuir), Cameron Hutchison (Stade Nicoise), Hamish Bain (Stade Nicoise).

Academy-supported players: Sula Callender (Corstorphine Cougars), Nicola Howat (Edinburgh University) Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School), Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School), George Goodenough (Boroughmuir), Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians), Charlie Jupp (Heriot's), Adam Hall (Currie Chieftains), Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School), Cameron Scott (George Watsons College/Boroughmuir), Struan Whittaker (Edinbugrh Accies), Rory Jackson (Edinburgh Accies), Rory McMichael (Heriot's), Jack Mann (Edinbugrh Accies), Scott King (Heriot's), Sarah Law (Edinburgh University), Rachel Law (Edinburgh University), Lisa Thompson (Darlington), Lisa Martin (LMRCV), Helen Nelson (Montpellier).

Venue: Edinburgh Napier University, Sighthill Campus

Partners: Edinburgh Napier University, Edinburgh City Council (Edinburgh Leisure)