Rugby region: Edinburgh, Mid & West Lothian

Map of Edinburgh and MidlothianThe Edinburgh, Mid and West Lothian rugby region is made up of two local authority areas: City of Edinburgh and Midlothian.

The area is home to:

  • 29 secondary schools
  • 130 primary schools
  • six independent schools
  • three universities
  • three further education colleges
  • 23 rugby clubs

Developing rugby

Doc McKelvey is the Development Manager for Edinburgh Rugby.

Doc is responsible for overseeing the development of rugby facilities in the area, for increasing the quality of local coaching and refereeing, and increasing the number of people playing rugby.

Development strategy

For more information about the work going on in Edinburgh and Midlothian,

 

Contacts for Edinburgh and Midlothian

Doc McKelvey

Edinburgh Rugby

development

manager

 doc.mckelvey@sru.org.uk07834 542 974

Ben Fisher

Regional academy coach,

Edinburgh and Midlothian

ben.fisher@sru.org.uk07764 178 928

Sarah Hogwood

Women and girls' rugby

development officer  

sarah.hogwood@sru.org.uk   07580 904 891

Colin Brett

Referee development

manager, Edinburgh region   

colin.brett@sru.org.uk   07971 605 618

Neil Graham

Coach development officer, eastneil.graham@sru.org.uk 07970 649 768

      

Development officers

Bill Smith

Queensferry billsmith152@googlemail.com07971 446 947

Dougie Thomson

Linlithgow RFCcdo@rugby.linlithgow.com07955 548 685

Eric Jones

Lismore RFCe.jones80@ymail.com07581 416 018

Gavin Sisson 

Forrester React-2-Rugby cdo@forrester-rfc.co.uk07885 262 918

Iain Berthinussen

Broughton Accies Trinityberti_gala@hotmail.com 07834 692 823

Jack Forrester

Lasswadejacklasswadecdo@hotmail.co.uk07783 564 194

James Sloggie

MidlothianJames.Sloggie@midlothian.gov.uk07823 534 626

Ross Young

Boroughmuirboroughmuircdo@hotmail.co.uk07708 927 066

Ruaridh Pye 

City of Edinburghruaridh.pye@ea.edin.sch.uk07799 860 106

Steve Leckie

Royal High rhccoach@googlemail.com 07974 400 479

Stuart Dennis

Murrayfield Wanderers FC stuart.g.dennis@talk21.com07906 837 339