Coaching Children Rugby Union

Qualifications for Coaching Children Rugby Union (Primary 4-7). 

Coaching Children Rugby Union (UKCC Level 1)

Working with children in rugby union is a rewarding experience, and this qualification offers guidance on developing the whole child through the game. It will qualify you to coach and referee (game coaching) children in rugby union; through your work you will be better able to develop core skills and core values in young players in an active, purposeful, enjoyable and safe environment. 

Candidates must be a minimum of 16 years of age before day 1 of a UKCC Level 1 course taking place. Attendees must also complete the following online training course: 

Aims

On completion coaches will be able to: 

  • Demonstrate equitable qualities appropriate to the role and responsibilities of rugby union coach of children
  • Understand the principles of coaching
  • Know how to plan, establish and maintain a safe coaching environment including player welfare and safeguarding children
  • Understand how to plan and support the delivery of activities that are age and stage appropriate for all players
  • Understand the Technical Blueprint: Mini Rugby Principles of Play
  • Understand how to develop own coaching practice

Outline

This course is organised by approved coaching centres and delivered by Scottish Rugby accredited coach educators. It will last approximately 19 hours (14 hours on course, 5 hours home study) and coaches must attend all sessions to receive the final qualification

Assessment

This course is competence based and involves on-course appraisal. Competencies can be demonstrated through practical demonstrations, completion of workbook and involvement in group discussions.  It involves both indoor and outdoor practical activities, where coaches will be expected to participate fully in all sessions. 

Courses 2017/18

Applications must be submitted via Eventbrite - an online registration platform. Select the 'APPLY NOW' link on the venue you wish to attend, where this will take you to the Eventbrite online registration page. 

In conjunction with sportscotland, Scottish Rugby is able to subsidise the course cost for those coaches and teachers working within our member and associate clubs, schools and universities to grow the game at a price of £65. If you do not coach with one of our member clubs and schools then you must pay the unsubsidised price of £200.

Borders & East Lothian

Berwick RFC – APPLY NOW

Friday 23 June (5.30pm-10pm), Sunday 25 June (8.30am– 6pm)

Hawick RFC - APPLY NOW

Wednesday 19 July (6pm-9pm), Friday 21 July (6pm-9pm), Sunday 23 July (9am-5pm)

Peebles RFC – APPLY NOW

Wednesday 9 August (6pm-9pm), Friday 11 August (6pm-9pm), Sunday 13 August (9am-5pm)

Dunbar RFC - APPLY NOW

Wednesday 2 May (6pm-9pm), Friday 4 May (6pm-9pm), Sunday 6 May (9am-5pm)

Edinburgh

 
Currie RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Thursday 17 August (6pm-9pm), Thursday 24 August (6pm-9pm), Sunday 27 August (9am-5pm)
 
Stewart's Melville College - APPLY NOW
 
Friday 1 September (6pm-9.30pm), Saturday 2 September (9am-5pm), Friday 8 September (6pm-9.30pm)
 
Linlithgow RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Monday 16 October (9am-5pm) & Wednesday 18 October (9am-5pm)
 
BT Murrayfield - APPLY NOW
 
Wednesday 24 January (6pm-9pm), Friday 26 January (6pm-9pm), Sunday 28 January (9am-5pm)

Glasgow

Whitecraigs RFC - APPLY NOW

Wednesday 28 June (6pm -9pm), Friday 30 June (6pm-9pm), Saturday 1 July (9am-5pm) 

Wigtownshire RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 29 July (9am-5pm), Sunday 30 July (9am-5pm)
 
Kintyre RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 19 August (9am-5pm), Sunday 20 August (9am-5pm)
 
Annan RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 9 September (9am-5pm), Sunday 10 September (9am-5pm)
 
Hutcheson Grammar - APPLY NOW
 
Wednesday 18 October (6pm-9pm), Friday 20 October (6pm-9pm), Sunday 22 October (9am-5pm)
 
University West of Scotland (Ayr Campus)- APPLY NOW
 
Wednesday 14 March (6pm-9pm), Friday 16 March (6pm-9pm), Sunday 18 March (9am-5pm)

Caledonia

Brechin Community Campus Sport & Leisure - APPLY NOW
 
Wednesday 21st June 6pm-9pm, Friday 23rd June 6pm-9pm, Sunday 25th June 9am-5pm
 
Ross Sutherland RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 22nd July (9am-5pm) & Sunday 23rd July (9am-5pm). 
 
Aberdeen Grammar - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 26th August (9am-5pm) & Sunday 27th (9am-5pm) August 
 
Lornshill Academy - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 7 October (9am-5pm), Sunday 8 October (9am-5pm) 
 
Dundee High School FP RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 2 September (9am-5pm), Sunday 3 September (9am-5pm)
 
Kinloss RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Saturday 4 November (9am-5pm), Sunday 5 November (9am-5pm)
 
Perthshire RFC - APPLY NOW
 
Monday 8 January (6pm-9pm), Monday 15 January (6pm-9pm), Sunday 21 January (9am-5pm)

 

 

Please contact Claire Scott: [email protected] | 0131 346 5167 should you have any questions

 

follow Scottish Rugby Coach Development for the latest news, updates and announcements