Coaching Youth & Adult Rugby Union

Qualifications for Coaching Youth & Adult Rugby Union (players aged 12-18+) 

UKCC Level 2: Coaching Youth & Adult Rugby Union 

Course Cost: £80 / £350

This course acts as an entry qualification for coaches who are currently coaching youth  rugby and will also include content on refereeing the 15-a-side game. Through your work you will be better able to develop core technical and tactical skills and core values in your players in an active, purposeful, enjoyable and safe environment.

Candidates must be a minimum of 16 years of age before day 1 of a UKCC Level 2 course taking place. Please note, coaches do NOT need to complete the UKCC Level 1 qualification prior to this course. 

           

Safeguarding

Every rugby club in Scotland must ensure that ALL their mini and youth coaches has a PVG Disclosure Scotland check. Any mini or youth coach without a PVG disclosure should not be taking part in any coahing activities until they have completed the PVG Disclosure Scotland process. 

Please click here for a useful flowchart displaying the steps that clubs need to take to process PVG checks for their youth coaches.

Please note, if a club is working with a school and sending their coaches into that school to coach, it is the responsibility of the club and not the school to ensure that the coach has a PVG Disclosure Scotland check.

Please visit Child Protection for further information. 

Aims

On completion coaches will be able to:-

  • Deliver rugby union coaching sessions and provide direction to other coaches
  • Understand the principles of coaching
  • Know how to plan, establish and maintain a safe coaching environment
  • Understand how to plan and support the delivery of activities that are age and stage appropriate for players
  • Understand how to evaluate coaching activities and understand how to evaluate own coaching practice

Outline

This course is organised by approved coaching centres and delivered by Scottish Rugby accredited coach educators. It will last approximately 34 hours (24 hours on course, 10 hours home study) and coaches must attend all three days at the same venue to receive the final qualification

Assessment

This course is competence based and involves on-course appraisal. It involves both classroom and outdoor practical activities, where coaches will be expected to participate fully in all sessions. 

Cost

In conjunction with sportscotland, Scottish Rugby is able to subsidise the course cost for those coaches and teachers working within our member and associate clubs, schools and universities to grow the game at a price of £80. If you do not coach with one of our member clubs and schools then you must pay the unsubsidised price of £300.

Courses 2018/19

Select the 'BOOK NOW' link on the venue you wish to attend, where this will take you to the Eventbrite online registration page. 

East

Boroughmuir RFC - BOOK NOW

Saturday 16 February (9am-5pm), Sunday 17 February (9am-5pm), Sunday 24 February (9am-5pm)

Edinburgh Rugby (BT Murrayfield) - BOOK NOW

Monday 15 April (9am-5pm), Tuesday 16 April (9am-5pm), Wednesday 17 April (9am-5pm)

Glasgow North

 

Glasgow South

Annan RFC - BOOK NOW

Sunday 24 February (9.30am-5.30pm), Saturday 2 March (9.30am-5.30pm), Sunday 3 March (9.30am-5.30pm)

Midlands

Mayfield Sports Centre (Dundee HSFP) - BOOK NOW

Saturday 27 April 2019 (9am-5pm), Sunday 28 April 2019 (9am-5pm), Sunday 5 May 2019 (9am-5pm)

North

Orkney RFC - BOOK NOW

Friday 15 February (6pm-9pm), Saturday 16 February (9am-6pm), Sunday 17 February (9am-5pm)

 

Banff RFC - BOOK NOW

Friday 19 April (6pm-10pm), Saturday 20 April (9am-6pm), Sunday 21 April (9am-6pm)

 

Moray RFC - BOOK NOW

Friday 10 May (6pm-10pm), Saturday 11 May (9am-6pm), Sunday 12 May (9am-6pm)

 

UKCC Level 3: Coaching Youth & Adult Rugby: Advanced 

Course Venue

Stirling University

Application Deadline

Friday 1 March (Midnight)

Course Dates

Day 1 & 2 (residential)

  • Friday 28th June 2019 (1:00pm start)
  • Saturday 29th June 2019 (4:00pm finish)

Day 3 & 4 (residential)

  • Friday 2nd August 2019 (1:00pm start)
  • Saturday 3rd August 2019 (4:00pm finish)

Day 5 - Saturday 9th May 2020 (10:00am - 4:00pm) 

Click here to apply

 

 

For enquiries, please contact [email protected]

follow Scottish Rugby Coach Development for the latest news, updates and announcements