Coaching Rugby in Scotland

Coaching is a unique way to get really involved in rugby. It offers the chance to give something back to the game, spend time with your children, friends and family and have a hand in developing Scotland's next generation of players.

Whatever your reason we are here to help you become as good a coach as you can be.

Getting Started

Find out how to become a rugby coach, where to start, what and how to coach appropriately to the age and stage of your players.

COACH

Get Qualified and Develop Your Knowledge and Skills

Enhance your coaching skills and gain recognised qualifications, keep on leaning. Click on the links below for relevent courses:

UKCC Level 1: Coaching Children Rugby Union 

UKCC Level 2: Coaching the XV-A-Side Game 

UKCC Level 3: Advanced Coaching Award 

SRU/UKSCA Level 1: Coaching Strength & Conditioning

ScrumReady Workshops 

Specialist Skills Progamme and Material

Coach Education Workshops and Conferences

Resources and Downloads 

Coach Development Officers

James Wade East (Edinburgh, Midlothian, Borders & East Lothian, Tayside & Fife) James.Wade@sru.org.uk 07583 294259 

Andy Douglas West (Glasgow North, Glasgow South and Central)  Andrew.Douglas@sru.org.uk 07764772250

Sinclair Patience North (Grampian and North East, Highlands & Islands) Sinclair.Patience@sru.org.uk 07971606223

  

Scottish Rugby’s Coach Development Team

Neil Graham, Coaching Development Manager: Neil.Graham@sru.org.uk 0131 346 5021; 079706 49768

Bosman du Plessis, Positive Coaching Scotland Manager: Bosman.Duplessis@sru.org.uk  07581051157

Claire Scott, Coach Development Administrator: Claire.Scott@sru.org.uk 0131 346 5167

Paul Kesterton, Education Manager: Paul.Kesterton@sru.org.uk 078179 70508