HSBC Sevens World Series


The HSBC Sevens World Series consists of nine tournaments held around the world, in which fifteen national Sevens teams compete for World Series points. An overall series champion is crowned based on points accumulated throughout the nine events. The series has been going since 1999/2000, with New Zealand the dominant force in 7s rugby, winning the series 11 times, with Fiji, South Africa and Samoa all being crowned champions once.  Plus, this season, the top four-ranked nations in the HSBC Sevens World Series will qualify directly for the Olympic Games in 2016.

How the tournaments work

The tournaments are all run over two days, the only exception being the long-established Hong Kong 7s which covers three days. Teams compete in Pools on the first day, with the winners and runners-up going into the Cup competition on Day 2, and the 3rd and 4th placed teams going into the Bowl. ON Day Two, the losers of the opening Cup game go into the plate competition and the losers of the opening Bowl competition go into the Shield competition.



4 Pools of 4 Teams

4 competitions, participation in which depends on results

1st and 2nd place

CUP competition


       Losers of opening Cup knockout game go into PLATE competition

3rd and 4th place

BOWL competition


       Losers of opening Bowl knockout game go into SHIELD competition

The Scotland leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series

Scotland is the home of sevens rugby (the abbreviated game was invented in Melrose in 1883) and when the IRB Sevens World Series was expanded in 2007, BT Murrayfield and the Scottish public welcomed it with open arms. The Emirates Airline Edinburgh 7s ran for five years, from 2007 to 2011. Since 2012 the event has been staged at Scotstoun in Glasgow, the home of Glasgow Warriors and has proved to be a huge hit with the rugby public.