Benetton Treviso vs Edinburgh Rugby, Fri, 19/04/2013 - 19:30

Edinburgh Rugby fell foul of a Treviso double in the RaboDirect PRO12 tonight after conceding 30 unanswered points at the at the Stadio di Monigo.

The visitors opened up a 0-10 lead in the first half courtesy of captain Greig Laidlaw’s boot and a fine Matt Scott try.

However, after Albert Di Bernardo kicked his side back into the game with a pair of penalties, the hosts registered three converted scores and another penalty to complete a considerable, and unanswered comeback.

Interim Edinburgh Rugby head coach Stevie Scott, said: “Our intention was to start well and we did that, with some good quick rugby and good decision making, but we let them back in with poor discipline.

"It’s a very similar scenario to last week against Connacht, 12-3 up last week, and 10-nil up this week, with a few areas in the game letting us down tonight.


“Credit to Treviso, they’re a good outfit, especially here at home, but the stand-out thing from tonight for me is that we made the same errors as we did last week.

“As a coach, I’m very disappointed about that.”

                  -- Interim head coach, Stevie Scott --


It is surprising that, give the final result, it was the visitors that led for much of the first half through centre Matt Scott's well-worked try, which capitalised on a big break out wide from winger Tim Visser.

The converted score, combined with an earlier Greig Laidlaw penalty, meant Edinburgh were 10-0 to the good.

However a pair of penalties from stand-off Alberto Di Bernardo were indicative of the host’s growing confidence and foothold in the tie, before Edinburgh full-back Tom Brown was adjudged to have tripped a breakaway Treviso attack.

After weathering much of the storm, Edinburgh’s defence finally yielded, and Moano Vosawai crossed for a converted score.

Half-time: Treviso 13-10 Edinburgh Rugby

Scott almost began the second half with a bang for Edinburgh, breaking through and chipping the ball over the last defender, but just failing to collect it.

Brown returned to restore Edinburgh to full strength but Treviso continued to attack with ambition.

The Italians then demonstrated their power up front to sqeeze out another panlty, Di Bernardo's effort cannoned back off the upright, before making amends with a successful attempt moments later.

On 58 minutes 16-10 became 23-10 when a strong maul took Treviso into the Edinburgh 22, before they span out and Michele Rizzo dived over and Di Bernardo converted.

With Edinnburgh trying desperately to force the game and run from all angles, Treviso grabbed their third  of the game in the last minute of the match through Simone Favaro, which Di Bernardo converted.

Full-time: Treviso (13) 30-10 (10) Edinburgh Rugby

Treviso: Brendan Williams, Ludovico Nitgolia, Tommaso Benvenuti, Gideon La Grange, Christian Loamanu; Alberto Di Bernaardo, Fabio Semenzato; Albert De Marchi, Leonardo Ghiraldini CAPTAIN, Lorenzo Cittadini, Francesco Minto, Valerio Bernabo, Simone Favaro, Alessandro Zanni, Paul Derbyshire. Substitutes: Giovanni Maistri, Michele Rizzo, Ignacio Fernandez-Rouvet, Marco Fraser, Monoa Vosawai, Edoardo Gori, Kristopher Burton, Luke McLean.

Edinburgh Rugby: Tom Brown; Dougie Fife, Nick De Luca, Matt Scott, Tim Visser; Harry Leonard, Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN; Allan Jacobsen, Ross Ford, Geoff Cross, Grant Gilchrist, Sean Cox, Stuart McInally, Hamish Watson, Netani Talei. Substitutes: Steven Lawrie, Robin Hislop, John Yapp, Perry Parker, Robert McAlpine, Sean Kennedy, Piers Francis, Lee Jones.

Man of the match: Leonardo Ghiraldini

Referee: Mark Patton

Team lineups

Benetton Treviso
Edinburgh Rugby


15 Brendan Williams
14 Ludovico Nitoglia
13 Tommaso Benvenuti
12 Gideon La Grange
11 Christian Loamanu
10 Alberto Di Bernardo
9 Fabio Semenzato




1 Alberto De Marchi
2 Leonardo Ghiraldini CAPTAIN
3 Lorenzo Cittadini
4 Francesco Minto
5 Valerio Bernabo
6 Simone Favaro
7 Alessandro Zanni
8 Paul Derbyshire




16 Giovanni Maistri
17 Michele Rizzo
18 Ignacio Fernandez-Rouyet
19 Marco Fuser
20 Manoa Vosawai
21 Edoardo Gori
22 Kristopher Burton
23 Luke McLean