Grangemouth Stags RFC vs Oban Lorne, Sat, 20/04/2013 - 12:00

Grangemouth Stags RFC
14 - 19
Full time
Oban Lorne
Saturday, 20 April, 2013 - 12:00 | Murrayfield

Grangemouth Stags 14 Oban Lorne 19

Oban Lorne fought back from an early deficit to lift the RBS Bowl in front of their exuberant supporters at Murrayfield this afternoon.The Green Machine, as robust as a Calmac ferry, scored three tries, all from their pack, which summed up where the match was won.

Oban Lorne win RBS ShieldAs is so often the case in the RBS Bowl there were two vocal sets of fans welcoming their heroes to the Murrayfield turf.

It was an experienced fellow who opened the scoring for Grangemouth, prop David Jamieson, once of West of Scotland and Ayr, who bulldozed in for a try, which Craig Sangster, another to operate up the ladder at Stirling County, converted.

Oban responded quickly and when Grangemouth knocked on in their own 22, a decent advantage from referee Duncan McClement, was exploited with a try by Struan Smith. Craig Wright’s conversion tied the scores.

Another rumble from Jamieson, this time on the Oban 10-metre line, set up a score for Sangster which the stand-off converted.

Both teams continued to go at it full pelt and from a tap penalty inside the Grangemouth 22, Andrew MacDougall crashed over for Oban’s second try. Wright levelled with the conversion.

Pick and goes

Close to half-time and Oban took the lead for the first time. Oban cranked through the gears with a series of pick and goes and after stand-off Ruaridh Aitken was held up under the posts, the recycled possession was seized  by Oban lock Jamie McMillan who dotted down.

Half time: Grangemouth Stags 14 Oban Lorne 19

James Denny, Grangemouth’s winger, was denied at the right flag when width was given to one attack but, generally, it was more route one that was being favoured by both teams.

Wright was just short with a penalty as Oban’s scrum waxed strong but roared on by their support they continued to dominate territory.

Wright miscued narrowly from the other side with another penalty attempt but despite a late rally from Grangemouth it was to prove Oban’s day.

The RBS Man of the Match, as chosen by pro players James Eddie and Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) and Roddy Grant and Lewis Niven (Edinburgh Rugby) was Oban centre Cameron Smith.

Referee: Duncan McClement

Team lineups

Grangemouth Stags RFC
Oban Lorne


15 Philip Johnston
14 James Denny
13 Gary Dempsey
12 David Innes
11 Kudakwashe Pedyo
10 Craig Sangster
9 Roddy McPherson


15 Ryan Jackson
14 Calum MacLachlan
13 Craig Wright
12 Cameron Smith
11 Alex Cadzow
10 Ruaridh Aitken
9 Dougie Pender


1 Steve Carrie
2 James Craig
3 David Jamieson
4 Connor McFarlane
5 Colin McInally
6 Gavin Curran
7 Stephen Neil
8 David McFarlane


1 Liam Burns
2 Robin MacQueen
3 Tommy Sutherland
4 Jamie MacMillan
5 Neil Rimmer
6 Stuart Smith
7 Andrew MacDougall
8 Corrie Louw


16 Jamie McNab
17 Callum Serafini
18 Steve Binnie
19 Ian Weir
20 Bryan Aspinall
21 Daniel Ward
22 Stuart Allan


16 Andrew Johnstone
17 Mark McTighe
18 Fergus Mathieson
19 Lorne McLachlan
20 Allan Wright
21 Robert Wright
22 Connor Ferris
There is no points table for this competition.

RBS National Bowl latest results

Grangemouth Stags RFC 14 v 19 Oban Lorne
Grangemouth Stags RFC 23 v 20 Kinloss Eagles
Oban Lorne 27 v 0 Broughton RFC