Millbrae vs Aberdeen University, Sat, 16/04/2016 - 11:00

17 - 15
Full time
Aberdeen University
Saturday, 16 April, 2016 - 11:00 |

A last minute penalty kick secured BT Bowl glory for Millbrae RFC against Aberdeen University at BT Murrayfied today (17-15).

In what was set to be a classic match of youth and pace versus physicality and experience, it was the students who opened the scoring with an unconverted try from Thomas Forson.

After opting for a five metre lineout the scrum-half collected the ball off the top and darted round the blind side to dot down on the ten-minute mark (0-5).

So it remained until the closing minutes of the half, with the Ayrshire side battling their way back into the match, often opting – successfully – for route one.

James Armstrong missed the chance to pull three points back for the men in pink and black, however their late pressure began to tell, deep in the University 22, and ultimately saw the industrious Aberdeen number 8, Graham McKittrick, sent to the sin bin.

Millbrae did not relent and, after several short-range attempts, referee Alex Obreja was given no option but to award a penalty try for a defensive infringement on the line, at the corner flag.

Armstrong added the extras from in front of the sticks for a half-time lead (7-5).

HALF-TIME: Milllbrae 7-5 Aberdeen University

The Millbrae scrum was a telling weapon as the game wore on, as they started to turn the screw against an Aberdeen side desperate for some momentum to release their backs, as well a return to a full complement.

Millbrae, keen to capitalise on their man advantage, were back at the Uni try line and knocking on the door where, despite some resolute defending from the student side, number eight Keith Hunter crossed the paint in the final minute of the ten-minute timeout, with a crucial conversion from Armstrong taking them outwith scoring range (14-5).

Coming back to 15 men noticeably reinvigorated the north east side, as full-back Jonathan Bain, wing Max Stobbs and back-row Patrick Mulholland all made telling breaks, but on two occasions the side failed to hold on to the ball just inches from the whitewash.

Their efforts were, however, rewarded on the 65-minute mark, after a deft chip during penalty advantage from stand-off and man-of-the-match, William Kelly, was collected by Stobbs to score under the posts.

Kelly added two points the straight-on conversion to pull his side back into the match, before adding a penalty with five minutes left on the clock to take a lead into the closing stages of the game (14-15).

With two minutes left, replacement Millbrae kicker Craig Steele looked set to have missed the last chance to take the lead for the Ayrshire men, when his penalty kick went wide, however it was with one minute to spare he slotted a second shot at the sticks (17-15).

Kelly had the chance to do likewise fo Aberdeen, with the clock in the red, but it was Millbrae who were left celebrating as the ball sailed just wide of the upright.

FULL-TIME: Millbrae 17-15 Aberdeen University

Millbrae: 15. Lee Mayne; 14. Christopher Smith, 13. James Armstrong, 12. Nigel Howard, 11. Scott Cunningham; 10. David Courtney, 9. Max Pickles; 1 Ben Paterson, 2. Jim Lymburn, 27. Connor Mackie, 4. Jack Brown, 29. Josh Currie CAPTAIN, 6. Alan Drennan, 7. Aiden Boyd, 18. Keith Hunter. Substitutes: 28. Ruairidh Sayce, 3. Alan McConnachie, 20. Alan MacGregor, 19. Gavin White, 25. Craig Steele, 13. Gibson Siwo, 30. Martin Watson.

Aberdeen University: 15. Jonathan Bain, 14. Cameron Lineen, 13. Sean Devine, 12. Freddie Graham-Campbell, 11. Max Stobbs; 10. William Kelly, 9. Thomas Forson; 1 Lewis Millar CAPTAIN, 2 Lewis Rae, 3. Angus Lutton, 4. Calum Chalmers, 5. Sholto Hunter, 6.Patrick Mulholland, 7. Adam Honeyman, 8. Graham McKittrick. Substitutes: 16. Connor Cullen, 17. Robert Walker, 18. Matthew Robson, 19. Max Oliver, 20. Douglas McMillan, 21. Patrick Clark, 22. Rory Fenn.


Referee: Alex Obreja

Team lineups

Aberdeen University







There is no points table for this competition.

BT National Bowl latest results

Millbrae 17 v 15 Aberdeen University
Millbrae 14 v 3 Grangemouth Stags RFC
Aberdeen University 22 v 0 Earlston RFC