Murrayfield Wanderers FC Women vs Hillhead Jordanhill Women, Sat, 18/04/2015 - 15:30

Murrayfield Wanderers FC Women
25 - 22
Full time
Hillhead Jordanhill Women
Saturday, 18 April, 2015 - 15:30 |

Murrayfield Wanderers have claimed the Sarah Beaney Cup for a 12th time today at BT Murrayfield, beating their opponents Hillhead/Jordanhill, 25-22.

Despite establishing a 17-0 lead in the first 20 minutes the capital team had to work hard to secure the victory, as their opponents came back at them ferociously.

Murrayfield Wanderers celebrate at full-time

Once the scores were equal at 17-17, early in the second half, it was like a game of ping pong that any team could have won, but a Lisa Robertson try proved the difference with nine minutes still to play.

Lisa Martin, Murrayfield Wanderers captain said: "Its a memory that's going to stay with us forever. Its not often that you get the chance to play on the BT Murrayfield pitch.

The weather was great and that the crowd stayed on to watch us.

"We shouldn't have let Hillhead/Jordanhill come back into the match, but it shows the character that these players have to come back and seal the win."

Hillhead/Jordanhill’s hooker Lindsey Smith was named player of the match, for a strong outing for the Glasgow side.

Murrayfield Wanderers scrum-half, Sarah Law, was the first try scorer in the Sarah Beaney Cup final. In the eighth minute, five metres out, Law took a quick tap penalty and ran in the first score. 5-0

Winger Rhona Lloyd then extended the defending champions’ lead with a brace. She scored her first try on 15 minutes and then the second on 19 minutes, both followed a serious turn of pace to out run her opponents. Captain Lisa Martin converted the second try. 17-0

The next 20 minutes quietened down a little, with neither team able to create any real threat in open play, but immediately before the half time whistle was blown Hillhead/Jordanhill ensured they weren’t absent on the score sheet.

They had a couple of chances to create a scoring opportunity and had plenty of territory to work with, but the try came after they forced the overlap and Smith was free to run in over the whitewash. Stand-off Alison Cook added the extras. 17-7 

Half-time: Murrayfield Wanderers 17-7 Hillhead/Jordanhill 

Hillhead/Jordanhill continued the momentum they had found at the end of the first half, at the beginning of the second period. After four minutes, number 8 Jade Konkel scored their second try, down the widest confines of the pitch in front of the crowded West Stand. 17-12

Game of ping pong

Then moments later Smith crossed for her second try, which levelled the scores. 17-17

On the 55th minute Martin slotted a penalty, which edged Murrayfield Wanderers back in front, before Hillhead/Jordanhill retook the lead after a winding run from Megan Gaffney that saw her beat the last few defenders and cross the whitewash. 20-22

The game of ping pong continued when Robertson powered over for Murrayfield Wanderers’ next and final try. This gave the defending champions the lead once again. At this stage there was only nine minutes left on the clock, but it ended up that this was the last points scored in the game. 25-22 

Full-time: Murrayfield Wanderers 25-22 Hillhead/Jordanhill

Player of the match: Lindsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Referee: Alex Pratt

Team lineups

Murrayfield Wanderers FC Women
Hillhead Jordanhill Women


15 Sarah Gill
14 Heather Innes
13 Eilidh Sinclair
12 Helen Nelson
11 Rhona Lloyd
10 Lisa Martin (C)
9 Sarah Law


15 Emma McBride
14 Sarah Smith
13 Megan Gaffney
12 Kristin Daly
11 Hannah Smith
10 Alison Cook
9 Rachael Whyte


1 Beth Dickens
2 Sarah Quick
3 Lisa Robertson
4 Cat Syme
5 Emma Wassell
6 Jude Telford
7 Jen Cram
8 Rachael Cook


1 Heather Lockhart (C)
2 Lindsey Smith
3 Mairi Forsyth
4 Jenny Johnston
5 Lauren Hagan
6 Louise McMillan
7 Jemma Forsyth
8 Jade Konkel


16 Suzy Hex
17 Cristianne Fahey
18 Lucy Park
19 Alex Read
20 Chloe Boutchner
21 Rebecca Reese
22 Katy Green


16 Kerry McFadzean
17 Mary Lafaiki
18 Tamsin Tyeson
19 Kirsty McConnell
20 Claudia Baird Hoyos
21 Geraldine McGroarty
22 Amanda Moore
There is no points table for this competition.

Sarah Beaney Cup latest results

Murrayfield Wanderers FC Women 25 v 22 Hillhead Jordanhill Women
Murrayfield Wanderers FC Women 81 v 0 Stirling County Women
Cartha Queens Park Women 0 v 47 Hillhead Jordanhill Women
Aberdeenshire Quines 19 v 27 Stirling County Women
Hillhead Jordanhill Women 93 v 14 Melrose Women