Belhaven On Board As Mcvie Leads Scots Again

Tam McVie, the experienced Heriot’s flanker, will once again lead the Scotland Club International team as they break new ground by meeting their Welsh counterparts this week. In a further boost, the Scotland Club International team are to be sponsored by Belhaven, the official beer partner of Scottish Rugby. The Belhaven Best brand name will adorn the Scots’ jerseys for Friday’s match in Caerphilly and for the meeting against the Irish in Dublin later this month.

Belhaven’s marketing manager, Gregor Mina, said: “Our sponsorship of Scottish Rugby kicked off when supporters were able to enjoy a pint of Belhaven Best during last weekend’s international but we’re also delighted to be involved with the club international team, as we’re committed to helping the game’s profile and growth from the grassroots too.”

McVie has played in both previous club internationals against the Irish, and is one of nine players in Scottish ranks to have featured at this level before.

The Scots coach, Ian Rankin, said: “Our team is a good mix of experience and youngsters who’re making an impact in the Scottish Hydro Electric Premiership.  Last season John Houston played in the centre for our team against the Irish and wind the clock forward to last weekend and he was in the Scotland A squad as a full-time pro with Edinburgh.

“My message to our squad is simple. There’s an opportunity for you here to win in the colours of your country and there also could be a chance for some to win a full-time rugby contract.”

The Scots train tonight at Goldenacre in Edinburgh and travel to Wales on Thursday.

Scotland Club International team v Wales Club International team on Friday 8 February at Caerphilly RFC (kick-off 2.30pm)

15 Stephen Ruddick (Boroughmuir)*

14 Marc Teague (Heriot’s)
13 Graham Thomson (Dundee HSFP)
12 Jamie Murray (Melrose)
11 Rory Couper (Boroughmuir)

10 Andrew Skeen (Watsonians)*
9 Richard Snedden (Currie)*

1 Bruce McNeil (Heriot’s)
2 Sean Crombie (Boroughmuir)*
3 Jon Welsh (GHA)*
4 Damien Kelly (Ayr)
5 Andy Adam (Currie)
6 Tam McVie (Heriot’s) CAPTAIN
8 Ross Weston (Currie)*
7 Angus Martyn (Boroughmuir)

Substitutes: 16 Pat MacArthur (Ayr), 17 Garry Mountford (Stirling County), 18 Graeme Dodds (Melrose), 19 George Oommen (Dundee HSFP), 20 Greg Cottrell (Boroughmuir), 21 Colin Goudie (Heriot’s), 22 Dougie Brown (Watsonians)

* = Club international debutant

Unavailable through injury: Rory Hutton (Hawick) and Alasdhair McFarlane (Ayr); unavailable: Ben Fisher and Malcolm Clapperton (both Boroughmuir).