Webster Setting Sights On Connacht

ImageSimon Webster is adamant that extending Edinburgh's Magners League try-scoring record will mean nothing tonight (7.30pm kick off) unless the men in black and red defeat Connacht.

The versatile back, 27, started the season off as the club's record try-scorer in the competition with 23 touchdowns and has added to that with a special effort against Glasgow back in December.

As a result, the stage is set for the Scotland internationalist to increase his tally against Connacht, although crowd favourite Webster insists his primary objective is for the team to win rather than preserving his record.

Webster said: "I don't really think about keeping the record. I just want the whole team to win games rather than score tries and if we can do that then I am happy.

"I"m looking forward to the game against Connacht. All the Scotland guys realise that the Magners League is our bread and butter.

There are big challenges awaiting us over the next six games, but we are looking to finish the season off really well.

"My season has been disrupted a bit because of injury and I am just desperate to contribute to a winning Edinburgh team."

Despite wearing the number 11 shirt for Edinburgh all season, Webster represented Scotland at outside centre during the RBS 6 Nations, but, following the late withdrawal of Roly Reid through a hamstring injury, the red-booted back has switched over to the right wing.

Nevertheless Webster says he is not bothered about being shoved along the back division; just as long as he is on the pitch.

He added: "It doesn't really bother me; I"ve never really had much of a preference regarding which wing I play on. I"m just pleased to be fit and pleased to be playing.

"I have just had a lot of little niggles that have kept me from doing what I want to do. That is just part of rugby unfortunately, but now I want to kick on and make an impact."

Edinburgh team to face Connacht tonight (kick off 7.30pm)

15 Hugo Southwell
14 Simon Webster
13 Ben Cairns
12 Nick De Luca
11 John Houston
10 Phil Godman
9 Mike Blair
1 Gavin Kerr
2 Andrew Kelly
3 Craig Smith
4 Craig Hamilton
5 Ben Gissing
6 Allister Hogg (captain)
7 Ross Rennie
8 David Callam
Substitutes: Augusto Allori, Steve Lawrie, Simon Cross, Matt Mustchin, Ben Meyer, Calum MacRae, Andrew Turnbull.