Vote Now For Your Star Player

ImageTime is running out, so weigh up your decision and vote for your Magners Edinburgh Player of the Year now. The awards night will be staged at Murrayfield on Wednesday 14 May, it is now time for you to cast your vote for the player you feel deserves to be awarded the accolade of Magners Edinburgh Player of the Year.

In order to cast your votes for the various awards, email [email protected] and help determine who have been the heroes behind Edinburgh's groundbreaking 2007/2008 campaign.

The awards night promises to be a special event in the Edinburgh sporting calendar and a real opportunity to applaud all the hard work that has taken place over the course of the campaign; both on and off the pitch.

The candidates have been short-listed to a final three for the title of Magners Edinburgh Player of the Year:
Mike Blair,27, 15 starts_
Ross Rennie, 22, 18 starts
Nick De Luca, 24, 20 starts

Similarly please cast your votes for the following categories by following the same procedure.

The candidates for the Try of the Year are:
John Houston (versus Toulouse, home, Heineken Cup, November)
Ross Ford (versus Leicester, home, Heineken Cup, January)
Ben Gissing (versus Toulouse, away, Heineken Cup, January)

The candidates for Young Player of the Year are:
Ross Rennie, 22, won first Scotland cap against Ireland during 6 Nations, 18 starts for Edinburgh
Ben Cairns, 22, scored try for Scotland A, captained Edinburgh against Dragons, 22 starts for the team
Greig Laidlaw, 22, won Melrose Sevens with Scottish Thistles, one start for the team

The candidates for Newcomer of the Year are:
John Houston, 25, debut season as a professional, 16 starts, two Heineken Cup tries
Ross Ford, 24, first season at club, 14 starts, try against Leicester in Heineken Cup
Ben Gissing, 32, first season at club, 21 starts, try against Toulouse in Heineken Cup