Blair Wins Magners Edinburgh Player Of The Year

ImageScrum half Mike Blair was named Magners Edinburgh Player of the Year at a memorable End of Season Awards Dinner at Murrayfield on Wednesday, 14 May and says it was a perfect way to finish the campaign.

Blair said: "I"m really happy to win the award especially when you take into the account the quality of the other candidates.

"It was an enjoyable season and winning the award was a nice way just to finish it off. I would like to thank everyone who voted for me and I look forward to seeing everyone next year.

"It was a fun evening and I think everyone who attended the dinner came away with some special memories and fired up for what we plan to achieve next season."

Mike is pictured receiving the award from Jules Macken from Magners in the Thistle Suite - thanks to everyone who voted for the Magners Edinburgh Player of the Year Award.

With 35 former players in attendance, the feats of former generations were toasted before the various winners picked up their gongs.

John Houston won both the try of the season and newcomer of the year awards, Young Player of the Year was Ben Cairns and Player's Player of the Year was Ross Rennie.

Lifetime Achievement Award was won by team doctor, Sam Hewitt while Community Player of the Year awarded to the player who contributed the most visits to community events was won by Andrew Easson.

The Edinburgh Legends who attended the End of Season Dinner were as follows:

David Johnston

Iain Sinclair

Andrew Lucking

Grant McKelvey

Alistair McLean

Stuart Johnston

Malcolm McVie

Jim Stewart

Brian Hay-Smith

Cameron Glasgow

Jim Calder

John Calder

Finlay Calder

Euan Kennedy

Mark Watters

Kenny Milne

Gordon Forbes

Jeremy Richardson

Craig Joiner

Andrew Dall

David Officer

Stuart Lang

Ian Lambie

Murray Craig

Graeme Burns

Barry Stewart

Jamie Mayer

Fergus Henderson

Mark Blair

Duncan Wilson

Tam McVie

Ross McNulty

Gordon Lawrie

Dougie Morgan

Stevie Scott