It'S The Shirty Dozen!

Things got wheely exciting at Murrayfield today as the twelve Scotland sevens players who will pull on the jerseys to represent their nation at the last two tournaments in this season's IRB Sevens World Series was announced - from the top of an open-topped bus.

With the London event next weekend before the finale, the Emirates Airline Edinburgh 7s at Murrayfield on 31 May and 1 June, Scotland 7s coach Stephen Gemmell revealed the squad members who had turned out to be just the ticket for the UK legs...


Scotland 7s squad to compete at the Emirates Airline London 7s and the Emirates Airline Edinburgh 7s Scott Forrest (Ayr)* CAPTAIN, Mike Adamson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Addison (Stirling County)*, Grant Anderson (Ayr)**, Chris Fusaro (Heriot’s)**, Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Steven Lawrie (Edinburgh), Colin Shaw (Glasgow Warriors), James Thompson (Heriot’s)*, Andrew Turnbull (Edinburgh), Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors)
* = Member of Scottish Rugby's Senior National Academy
** = Member of Scottish Rugby's Junior National Academy and supported by Area Institute of Sport

Looking forward to the final events Stephen added,  “The backing of the two Scottish pro-teams has enabled me to pick a squad I feel will do our country proud. There’s no doubt we have tough opposition in both London and Edinburgh but I’m confident we can continue to show our quality against the best sides in the world. We’ve got pace throughout this squad, and a great deal of experience which is invaluable when playing international rugby sevens.”