Thompson Caps Off Memorable Week

Image Jim Thompson, the 23-year-old Heriot's fullback/centre who signed for Edinburgh Rugby just yesterday, has been called up to the Scotland A squad for the 2008 Barclays Churchill Cup in North America.

Scotland A team head coach, Rob Moffat, who is also assistant coach for Edinburgh, said: 'this is a great opportunity for Jim._ He's a talented young player with impressive natural ability and that's why he's been awarded a professional contract for next season."

"Having already developed on the international sevens stage, now is the time for Jim to prove himself at international XV-a-side level."

Elsewhere in the backs, Edinburgh trio Matt Dey, Andrew Turnbull and Greig Laidlaw will also travel to North America.

Turnbull and Laidlaw will join the squad along with Thompson and Colin Gregor in North America following their involvement with the Scotland 7s squad at the Emirates Airline Edinburgh 7s at Murrayfield this weekend (Saturday 31 May and Sunday 1 June).

Dey takes the place of Scott Barrow who has become unavailable and Thompson replaces Marcus Di Rollo who withdraws due to contractual obligations with his club, Toulouse.

Meanwhile, due to the promotion to the senior national team of forwards Geoff Cross and Craig Smith (the latter pulling out of the senior tour yesterday) and back Max Evans, Moffat today confirmed the players taking four of the five remaining places in the Scotland A squad.

With the withdrawal of Craig Smith, Rotherham prop Stuart Corsar is called up whilst Tommy McGee of Leeds Carnegie is a direct replacement for Geoff Cross.

One more forward will be added next week.

The Scotland A squad (sponsor Murray) to compete at the 2008 Barclays Churchill Cup in North America next month is:

Backs: David Blair (Edinburgh), Rob Dewey (Ulster), Matt Dey (Edinburgh), Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors), Steve Jones (Newcastle Falcons), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Calum MacRae (Edinburgh), Mark McMillan (Wasps), Roland Reid, Mark Robertson (both Edinburgh), Gordon Ross (Saracens), Jim Thompson (Heriot s), Andrew Turnbull (Edinburgh)

Forwards: Stuart Corsar (Rotherham), Jon Dunbar (Leeds Tykes), James Eddie, Ed Kalman (both Glasgow Warriors), Andrew Kelly, Alan MacDonald (both Edinburgh), Tommy McGee (Leeds Carnegie), Andy Miller (Exeter), Scott Newlands (Edinburgh), Fergus Pringle (Edinburgh), Stevie Swindall, Fergus Thomson, Dan Turner (all Glasgow Warriors), David Young (Leicester Tigers), plus one more forward still to be selected.