Seven Warriors In Line To Face Canada

Head coach Rob Moffat has named seven Glasgow Warriors players in his first Scotland "A" team for their opening game of the 2008 Barclays Churchill Cup in North America.

Six of the players are current Warriors, the seventh being scrum-half Mark McMillan who joins The Biggest Team in Glasgow after the tour.

The squad was fully assembled on Tuesday evening when four players that took part in the Emirates Airline Edinburgh 7s joined them in Ottawa along with McMillan who was on club duty with Wasps at the Guinness Premiership final.

Despite naming his team today, Moffat stressed that there are still opportunities for players to impress ahead of the game on Saturday.

"We arrived on Saturday and have been training since Sunday and the players have prepared well. However the remaining members of the squad joined us on Tuesday so today is our first session as a full squad and I want to give everyone the best possible opportunity to stake a claim for a jersey ahead of the game.

"I"ve been encouraged by how the players have applied themselves so far and their desire to make this a successful tour. The team announced today is one I feel will do our country proud, but we still have training this morning and a captain's run tomorrow to ensure that this is our best 22 for this particular game."

Scotland A team to play Canada in the Barclays Churchill Cup at Twin Elm Park on Saturday 7 June (kick-off 4:30pm)

15 Calum MacRae (Edinburgh)

14 Mark Robertson (Edinburgh)
13 Steve Jones (Newcastle Falcons)
12 Rob Dewey (Ulster)
11 Roland Reid (Edinburgh)

10 Gordon Ross (Saracens)
9 Mark McMillan (Wasps)

1 Stuart Corsar (Rotherham)
2 Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
3 Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors)
4 James Eddie (Glasgow Warriors)
5 Dan Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Scott Newlands (Edinburgh)
7 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh)
8 Stevie Swindall (Glasgow Warriors)

16 David Young (Leicester Tigers)
17 Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh)
18 Fergus Pringle (Edinburgh)
19 Andy Miller (Exeter Chiefs)
20 Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors)
21 David Blair (Edinburgh)
22 Andrew Turnbull (Edinburgh)

Scotland A's fixtures at the 2008 Barclays Churchill Cup
Saturday 7 June, Twin Elm Rugby Park, Ottawa - Canada v Scotland A (kick-off 4:30pm local time)
Wednesday 11 June, Richardson Stadium, Kingston - Argentina Pumas v Scotland A (kick-off 4:35pm)
Saturday 21 June, Toyota Park, Chicago - Finals Day

All of Scotland's games will be broadcast live on Sky Sports - see for more information.