U17S Come Of Age In Valladolid Training Camp

Scotland's U17s development squad have spent the first week of their strength and conditioning camp in Valladolid, signalling their promotion to the under 18s set up. The trip to Valladolid acts as the transformation period for the young players from the U17 to U18 development side, where they will move into the hands of a new U18 coaching set-up.

Funded by Leonardo da Vinci funding (the criteria of which prohibits team travel within a team s own country) the side will undergo 11 strength and conditioning sessions and nine rugby sessions in the intense two week period.  With conditioning sessions focussing on speed and technical weight lifts, rugby session concentrate on key national themes of the hand catch, contact and ball presentation, the offload, and the role of the first receiver - clearly the young players of tomorrow are being put through a fortnight of social, mental and physical training.

Scotland under-17s coach, Bryan Easson, said: "There are very good facilities and accommodation at Valladolid which include an air conditioned gym and indoor running track.

“At the moment it’s 30-35 degrees in the afternoon so any rugby we do will be early morning or in the evening so the air conditioned gym sessions are done during the day."

Despite the graduation from 17s into 18s, Easson was quick to stress that the trip was a continuation of development rather than the first session of a new age grade.

Easson explained: “This is not a one off. It’s not the first session but the 15th session of development preparing the players for 18s post Millfield and Valladolid so they’ll certainly hit the ground running.”

The Scotland development squad will return on 17 July.

The touring squad:
Glenn Bryce (Stirling County), David Cherry (Merchiston Castle), Mark Clark (Annan), Callum Evans (George Watson's), Richard Ferguson (Melrose Wasps), Duncan Finnie (George Watson's), Peter Forrest (Selkirk Youth Club), Danny Gilmour (Stirling County), George Hunter (Aberdeen Wanderers), Gregor Hunter (Gala Wanderers), Sean Kennedy (Clackmannanshire Colts), Neil Kiltie (Robert Gordon's), Andrew Kirkland (Greenock Wanderers), Josh Low (St Aloysius), Robert McAlpine (Glasgow Academy/West), Calum McKenzie (Dunfermline), Courteney Morrison (Dollar Academy), Duncan Morrison (Sedbergh), Luke Morrow (Merchiston Castle), Harry Mountain (Gordonstoun), Henry Oliver (Merchiston Castle), Cammy Orr (Dumfries), Craig Robertson (Gala Wanderers), Grant Runciman (Stewart's Melville), Grant Somerville (George Watson's), Alasdair Stevenson (Whitecraigs), Ollie Taylor (Robert Gordon’s), Stephen Turnbull (East Kilbride), Duncan Weir (Cambuslang), Jordon Kynoch (Stewart’s Melville).