Revised Pro-Player Draft

ImageIn June, Scottish Rugby, working in partnership with the 12 clubs in Scottish Hydro Electric Premiership Division 1, allocated all 72 professional players from Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors, among the 12 club teams.

The draft was undertaken via a protocol to which all 12 clubs, the coaching staff of Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors, and Scottish Rugby's high performance and community staff agreed.

Since that draft took place, five further players have been confirmed in the pro-team ranks, requiring_an additional mini-draft to take place.

The mini-draft has again been undertaken via a process to which there was complete buy-in from the 12 Scottish Hydro Electric Premiership Division 1 clubs, the coaching staff of Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors and Scottish Rugby's high performance and community staff.

As a consequence of the new draft West of Scotland and Ayr continue to have their draft fully consisting of Glasgow Warriors players whilst nine other clubs draft a mix of both Edinburgh and Glasgow professionals.

Only Selkirk's draft consists entirely of Edinburgh players.

The revised draft is as follows:

West of Scotland: Jon Welsh (prop), Richie Vernon (back-row), Colin Gregor (utility back), Andrew Henderson (centre), Fergus Thomson (hooker), Johnnie Beattie (No 8) and Richie Gray (lock)

Edinburgh Accies: Greig Laidlaw (scrum-half), Hefin O"Hare (wing), Mike Blair (scrum-half), Hugo Southwell (full-back), Ben Gissing (lock), Matt Dey (centre), Chris Kinloch (centre/wing)
Glasgow Hawks: Colin Shaw (wing/full-back), Stevie Swindall (back-row), Max Evans (centre/wing), Graeme Morrison (centre), Thom Evans (wing), Steve Turnbull (lock), Mike Adamson (utility back)

Hawick: Opeta Palepoi (lock), Calum MacRae (full-back/centre), Chris Paterson (stand-off/full-back/wing), Matt Mustchin (lock/flanker), Dan Parks (stand-off), Eric Milligan (front-row), Bruce McNeil (prop)
Stirling County: Ryan Grant (prop), John Houston (centre), Roland Reid (wing/back-row), Allister Hogg (back-row), Alastair Kellock (lock), Mark McMillan (scrum-half)

Heriot's: Jim Thompson (centre/full-back), Alan MacDonald (back-row), Nick De Luca (centre), Ross Rennie (flanker), Bernardo Stortoni (full-back), Marc Teague (wing)

Ayr: Calum Forrester (back-row), James Eddie (lock/back-row), Ruaridh Jackson (stand-off/full-back), Moray Low (prop), Sam Pinder (scrum-half), Lome Fa"atau (wing)

Currie: Andrew Easson (centre), Andrew Turnbull (wing), Dan Turner (lock), Ben Cairns (centre), Simon Webster (wing), Dougie Hall (hooker)

Melrose: Scott Newlands (flanker), Geoff Cross (prop), Mark Robertson (wing), Kelly Brown (back-row), Kevin Tkachuk (prop), Tim Barker (lock)
Watsonians: Kyle Traynor (prop), Craig Hamilton (lock), Andrew Kelly (hooker), Daryl Gibson (centre), Jim Hamilton (lock), John Barclay (flanker)

Boroughmuir: Steven Lawrie (hooker), Fraser McKenzie (lock/flanker), Ed Kalman (prop), Allan Jacobsen (prop), Dave Callam (back-row), Justin Va"a (prop)