Swru Announces Successful Trialists

The SWRU has announced the successful participants from the Scotland Women's squad trials held at Lasswade on Sunday (details below). Over 75 players attended the SWRU trials with players taking part in position specific training in the morning, led by the SWRU performance coaching team, and a trial match in the afternoon.

From this trial, players have been selected to attend the second round of assessments on Saturday 20 September to compete for a place in the Scotland Women or Scotland Women Development squads. The competition and skill level was significantly higher than last year from both new players and current SWRU performance players coming through the development programme.

Players who have not been selected are invited to come and watch the trial match, and are strongly advised to attend the SWRU Academy trials on 24 January, 2009. Students in Further/Higher Education are also advised to attend a talent identification day on 8 November 2008 which may lead to selection for the SWRU Academy.

Any players who would like further information or player feedback should contact Jo Hull (SWRU Performance Development Manager) on [email protected] / 07780660519

Venue: Royal High Costorphine, East Barnton Avenue, Edinburgh, EH46JP.
Registration Time: 11.30am
Finish Time: 2.30pm
NB: Players should be prepared for both training and a trial match (strapping) and should bring their own lunch, water and any medical requirements.

Successful trialists are as follows:


1 Ellen Beattie  - Murrayfield Wanderers
2 Alison McDonald - RHC
3 Lynsey Smith - Hillhead / Jordanhill
4 Katie Barker - Dundee University
5 Joy Lyth - Lismore
6 Louise Moffat - Kirkcaldy
7 Sonia Cull - RHC
8 Keri Holdsworth - Watsonians
9 Sarah Gill - Murrayfield Wanderers
10 Nicola Halfpenny - Melrose
12 Stephanie Johnstone - Hillhead / Jordanhill
13 Celia Hawthorn - Edinburgh University
11 Lynsey Douglas - Richmond
14 Sarah Dixon - RHC
15 Vik Blakebrough - Richmond


1 Heather Lockhart - Hillhead / Jordanhill
2 Sarah-Louise Walker - Watsonians
3 Beth Dickens - Murrayfield Wanderers
4 Jilly McCord - RHC
5 Lana Blyth - Murrayfield Wanderers
6 Susie Brown - Hillhead / Jordanhill
7 Ruth Slaven - Murrayfield Wanderers
8 Lindsay Wheeler - Northumbria
9 Louise Dalgliesh  - RHC
10 Erin Kerr - Richmond
12 Suzi Newton - Northumbria
13 Laura Steven - Murrayfield Wanderers
11 Cara D'Silva – RHC
14 Ronnie Fitzpatrick - RHC
15 Lucy Millard  - Murrayfield Wanderers

Roz Murphy - Edinburgh University
Nikki McLeod - Edinburgh University
Heather Law - Murrayfield Wanderers
Sarah Quick - Murrayfield Wanderers
Frankie Alcock - Watsonians
Natalya Macholla - Stirling County
Val O'Neill - Kirkcaldy
Jenny Miller - Murrayfield Wanderers
Jules Sanaghan - Kirkcaldy
Louise Gray - Henley Hawks
Hazel Beilinski - Hillhead / Jordanhill
Katy Green - Murrayfield Wanderers
Ciara Baxter - Dundee University
Leah Cuthbertson - Watsonians