Kelly Nearing 100 Club While Rennie Returns

ImageAndrew Kelly is on the verge of becoming the latest Edinburgh player to record his 100th appearance in the Black and Red should he feature against Connacht on Friday night (24 October, kick off 6.30pm) while Scotland flanker Ross Rennie will also travel with the squad to Galway.
Scotland "A" hooker Kelly, 26, made his debut for Edinburgh in a thrilling 66-32 win at Caerphilly in September 2002 and the former Stewart's Melville student admits he is really pleased to have reached such a significant milestone.

Kelly said: "I'm really proud to be on the verge of making my 100th appearance for Edinburgh. When I made my debut, Mossy (Chris Paterson), Blade (Mike Blair) and Chunk (Allan Jacobsen) were all involved in the starting line-up."

"I was on the bench along with Webbo (Simon Webster), so it is great that we are all still playing together six years on.

"I've experienced lots of highs and lows during my time with Edinburgh, but I wouldn't change a single second."

As a result of a few injury concerns, head coach Andy Robinson has decided to take 11 replacements to Connacht, including Rennie.

The 22-year-old has not played a competitive match for seven months after suffering a serious knee injury " coincidentally against Connacht in March.

Now the promising young openside says he is both delighted and relieved to be on the threshold of making his comeback for Edinburgh.

Rennie said: "I"m very happy to be included in the traveling party and I"m just looking forward to playing some rugby again."

Matt Mustchin and Hugo Southwell, who both missed last Saturday's Heineken Cup win at Castres, are also named amongst the list of potential replacements while the starting line-up remains the same.
Edinburgh Rugby Club squad to play Connacht in the Magners League at Sportsground, Galway (Friday 24 October, kick off 6.30pm, local time)
15 Chris Paterson
14 Mark Robertson
13 Ben Cairns
12 Nick De Luca
11 Simon Webster
10 Phil Godman
9 Mike Blair (captain)
1 Allan Jacobsen
2 Ross Ford
3 Geoff Cross
4 Craig Hamilton
5 Jim Hamilton
6 Scott Newlands
7 Alan MacDonald
8 Allister Hogg
Substitutes (seven from 11 players that travel): Andrew Kelly, Gavin Kerr, Kyle Traynor, Matt Mustchin, Ben Gissing, Simon Cross, Ross Rennie, Greig Laidlaw, David Blair, Hugo Southwell, John Houston.