Belmont Academy Secure Bell Lawrie Silverware

Belmont Academy lifted the Bell Lawrie Scottish School’s Plate when they defeated Kelso High School 36-12 at Malleny Park on Monday.

The closely fought encounter saw the sides battle it out for 25 minutes until Belmont flanker Ben Rankin broke the deadlock with the afternoon’s first try which stand-off Cammy Murrie converted.

Kelso blind-side flank Liam Mitchell then crossed the white-wash before fly-half, Jonny Wolf, added the extras to bring the game level.

However, with just four minutes left in the half, Belmont centre Walker Lynch got the psychologically important try – which Murrie again converted – to give the Ayrshire side the seven point lead at the break.

Half time: 14-7

Belmont started as they left off when they extended their lead after 10 minutes when Rankin crossed for his double, though Murrie could not convert.

Six minutes later Belmont then put the game out of sight with two tries from Walker Lynch and Euan McGibbon. Cammy Murray converted the Lynch try to put Belmont 31-7 up.

Kelso staged a spiritied fight back and replacement Andrew Wolf earned an unconverted try however Belmont soon notched another unconverted effort of their own through Scott Richardson to secure the silverware.

Final score: 36-12
Man of the Match - Belmont Academy #12 - Walker Lynch

Belmont Academy

15 Callum Duncan
14 Euan McGibbon
13 Aiden Holland
12 Walker Lynch
11 Neil Wallace
10 Cammy Murrie
9 Andy Brown

1 Luther Hall
2 Chaz Adair
3 Euan Corbett
4 Andy Kerr
5 Robbie Thomson
7 Ben Rankin (Captain)
8 Christian Donaldson
6 Craig Hogg


16 Gregor Queen
17 Karol Janik
18 Scott Richardson
19 Mitchell Woods
20 Nick Lynn
21 Ollie Vollam

Kelso High School

15. Andrew Clark
14. Liam Jarvis
13. Rory Smith
12. Paul Blacklock
11. Gary Fleming
10. Jonny Wolf
9. Murray Hastie

1. Richard Marshall
2. David Cowen
3. David Irvine
4. Ben Hardtop
5. Fraser Gillie (Captain)
6. Liam Mitchell
8. James Stewart
7. Kevin Dryden


16. Matthew Fenwick
17. James Gray
18. Andrew Wolf
19. Niall Wood
20. Anders Cameron
21. Rory Wood
22. Fraser Neil