Under-20 Team Poised For Tonga Finale

Scotland under-20 head coach, Rob Moffat, has named his side to face Tonga in the ninth place playoff of the IRB TOSHIBA Junior World Championship at the Hanazono Stadium, Osaka, tomorrow (Sunday 21 June, kick-off 6am BST).

Scotland made the playoff with a convincing win over Fiji (39-26) on Wednesday and victory over Tonga would see Scotland finish one place above their current seeding (10th) and cap off a convincing season for the young Scots.

Robbie Johnston will partner Alex Dunbar in the centre

Robbie Johnston has been brought in to partner stand-out performer Alex Dunbar in the centre while Ashleah McCulloch moves out wide to provide the extra zing on the wing.

Starts for winger Grant Anderson and full-back Peter Horne make them the only two backs named to kick-off every game of the championship, while forward stalwarts Richie Gray (lock), flanker Chris Fusaro – who retains the captain’s arm band – and prop David Morton match this feat up front.

Conversely, Grant Shiells gets his first start of the tour while Stuart McInally returns to the front-line at number eight after being rested for the Fiji game.

Scotland head coach, Rob Moffat, said: “We’re certainly looking forward to the last game against quite similar, but perhaps more structured, opposition to Fiji.

“There’s a real determination in the squad to perform well in our last game. You can’t turn the clock back. This team should really be competing for a place between fifth and eighth but as a result of the last 20 minutes of the Samoa game that didn’t happen.

“All we can do now is beat Tonga and finish ninth but I think more important than that is just to try and play consistent high tempo rugby.

“We can win this game, we’ve trained well over the last two or three days and we’re really determined to finish this tournament off well.”


Scotland under-20 team to face Tonga under-20 tomorrow (Sunday 21 June) at the Hanazono Stadium, Osaka (kick-off 6am BST)

15 Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors)

14 Grant Anderson (Ayr) *
13 Robbie Johnston (Leeds University and Leeds Carnegie)
12 Alex Dunbar (Selkirk) **
11 Ashleah McCulloch (Aberdeen Grammar) **

10 Andrew White (Glasgow Hawks) **
9 Henry Pyrgos (Wimbourne)

1 Grant Shiells (Kelso)
2 Finlay Gillies (Heriot’s) **
3 David Morton (Bridgwater and Albion)
4 Rob Harley (West of Scotland) *
5 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Ryan Wilson (London Scottish)
7 Chris Fusaro CAPTAIN (Heriot’s) *
8 Stuart McInally (Watsonians) *

16 Alun Walker (Currie)
17 Dougie Orr (Haddington) **
18 Grant Gilchrist (Stirling County) *
19 Struan Dewar (Heriot’s) **
20 Peter Jericevich (Glasgow Hawks) *
21 Robbie McGowan (Stirling County)
22 Tom Brown (Edinburgh Accies) *

The full Scotland under-20 squad:
Peter Jericevich (Glasgow Hawks) *, Henry Pyrgos (Wimbourne), Andrew White (Glasgow Hawks) **, Alex Dunbar (Selkirk) **, Robbie Johnston (Leeds University and Leeds Carnegie), James Knight (Bedford), Ashleah McCulloch (Aberdeen Grammar) **, Steven Aitken (Aberdeen Grammar) **, Grant Anderson (Ayr) *, Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Tom Brown (Edinburgh Accies)*, Robbie McGowan (Stirling County)

Alun Walker (Currie), Finlay Gillies (Heriot’s) **, Gavin Cameron (Stirling County) **, David Morton (Bridgwater and Albion), Douglas Orr (Haddington) **, Grant Shiells (Kelso), Tom Drennan (Edinburgh Accies), Grant Gilchrist (Stirling County) *, Richard Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Robert Harley (West of Scotland) **, Struan Dewar (Heriot’s) **, Chris Fusaro (Heriot’s) *, Stuart McInally* (Watsonians), Ryan Wilson (London Scottish)

* Denotes a member of the Scottish National Contracted Academy
** Denotes a member of the Scottish Rugby National Academy supported by the Scottish Institute of Sport