Grant Mckelvey: Under-18 Update

Scotland under-18 head coach Grant McKelvey speak exclusively to


Scotland under-18 head coach Grant McKelvey speak exclusively to

“The Scotland under-18 training squad move into their third session of the season on Sunday 4 October making a few changes based on form, injury and unavailability.

"Joining the training squad of 34 for the 1st time this season will be backs Sam Knudson (Aberdeen Grammar), Scott Shankie (East Kilbride) whilst Valladolid Squad members Jamie Urquart (Dollar) and Doug Day (Paviours RFC) also join.

"Unfortunately injuries to Heriots centre Stuart Hogg and West of Scotland full-back Aiden McCall-Hagen mean that both players miss out. Ongoing selections and de-selections will take place after the session with reviews of players performances during school / club and regional programmes looking forward to the next session in November and then onto the very important two day Camp on the 29 and 30 December 2009. 

"Behind the scenes activity has been high in confirming the playing programme for this squad before the under-18 6 Nations Festival which will take place in Wales."

FORWARDS - Robin Hislop (Hawick Wanderers) Gavin Robertson (Earlston High School / Melrose Wasps)**, Alex Allen (Sedburgh School) , Struan Cessford (Dundee High School) , Jo Wasinski (Hampton School), Jack McFarlane (Gourock High School / Glasgow Hawks) , George Turner (Stewart's-Melville College) , Ryan Hood (Strathallan), Fergus Scott (Currie), Fraser Wem, (Hampton School / Wasps), Craig Ferguson (East Kilbride) , George Barnes (Chesterfield), Mitch Eadie (Filton College), Malcolm Peacock (George Watson’s College) , Andrew Nagle (Jed Thistle) , Jamie Swanson (Glasgow Academy)*, Adam de ste Croix (Boroughmuir), Lawrie Seydak (Edinburgh Academy)

BACKS - Murray McConnell (Lenzie Academy / West of Scotland)*, Jonny Adams (Aberdeen Grammar), James Munro (Edinburgh Academy), Fraser Gillies (Edinburgh Academy), Finn Russell (Stirling County), Jack Bradford (Worksop College), Michael Crawley (Stewart's-Melville College), Mark Bennett (Cumnock) *, Jack Ferguson (George Watson’s College), Sam Knudson (Aberdeen Grammar), Scott Shankie (East Kilbride), Jamie Urquart (Dollar), Murray Beckwith (Marr College)*, Harris Jones (Merchiston Castle School)*,  Ross Inglis (Calderside Academy / Hamilton), Doug Day (Paviours)

* Member of National Academy supported by AIS (Area Institute of Sport), ** Member of National Academy supported by Scottish Rugby