Carrick Academy Prizegiving Report

Last Month Carrick Academy celebrated another successful year at the annual rugby prizegiving. Over 130 people were in attendance including special guests Adam Gray, Mr and Mrs Goodwin, Mr and Mrs Alexander and Mr and Mrs McComiskey.
Mr Brown welcomed everybody and talked about the seasons highlights. Some were:

Having 42% of boys in the school playing rugby
Having a Girls section
Winning the SRU Gold Award for rugby development
Having 12 pupils qualified as coaches and referees
Now playing against schools on a Saturday morning
Being award £10,000 from Awards for All and raising over £40,000 in total.
Fielding 6 sides without having to use players from other schools.
Tour to Wales.
But most of all the fun that everybody had playing the game.
He also stated the rugby sections targets for next season:
To have 2 Full time community SVQ students for Carrick Academy
To have over 150 registered players
To continue to be a self funding section
Sides will play every Saturday morning
Tour to Spain.
To field 6 sides using only players from Carrick Academy.
The introduction of a Carrick Cluster P7 rugby side.
The following pupils were then awarded the following trophies:
Year Trophy Winner
S1 Player of the Year
Barnyard Boot - Ross Limond
Conner Barr
S2 The J Marshall Trophy
The Interpak Trophy
Interhouse Cup Ben McBlain
Ross Ferrol
Calum Deboys (Red)
S3 Player of the Year
Most improved Player Scott Cree
Blair Cooper
S4 Player of the Year Conner Wyllie



U15 Player of the year

Under 15 –Most improved player
Under 18 - Most improved player
Girls’ Rugby - Players’ Player   

Chloe Coburn

Emma McClung
Megan Kirk
Adella McCulloch
Seniors The Mike Goodwin Trophy
The Reids Transport Players
Player of the Year
McComiskey Cup
Douglas Quaich (for services to Rugby) Calum Smith
Michael Kirk Craig Davidson
Craig Davidson

Special awards were also given to the following people:
Blair Jardine - Glasgow U16
Colin Sturgeon - Completing SVQ course
Craig Davidson - Glasgow U18 and Scotland Training Squad
The vote of thanks was given by Craig Davidson and Michael Kirk. The boys thanked all the pupils, teachers, coaches and parents who had supported the section this season. The boys presented flowers to Mrs Bell and Mrs Clark for all their hard work. Finally, the boys presented Mr Brown with a number of gifts to which he was clearly honoured to receive. They concluded by saying the school rugby had provided them with so many highlights and that they can not wait to start their community coaches jobs next season.
It has been a great season for all involved at Carrick Academy and season 2010-11 can not come quickly enough for all involved.