Peebles 1Sts At Lasswade 15S

Peebles at Lasswade 15s

Haddington 3 Peebles 0
Musselburgh 10 Peebles 0
Lasswade 0 Peebles 14
Forrester 0 Peebles 28

7 August 2010
D.P.T. Scribe


Peebles opened their season by taking part in the annual Lasswade 15s tournament. Playing 10 minutes each way, the emphasis was always on getting an early score in to secure the win before seeking tries in the pool stages. Not as easy as it sounds as all the games in Peebles’ pool were low scoring and tight and had the losing side not scoring, whilst in the other pool it was much the same, except that one game the losing side scored and Hamilton were never in a tight game.

Peebles started reasonably well in their first game against old P2 rivals, Haddington, but failed to take their chances on a perfect day for running rugby. A missed penalty may have been Peebles downfall in this tight game as in the second half Peebles waned and Haddington came into the game and whilst two long range kicks went wide and hit the upright a 3rd sealed the game at 3-0.

Musselburgh scored a converted try and a penalty in the second game to win 10-0 and it looked bleak as Peebles took the field against an unbeaten Lasswade Side. However the team was starting to gel and the Gytes men negated the home side use of the maul and went in for two tries by Donald Anderson and Neil Warnock, both converted by Neil Warnock for a 14 point win, that displaced the home side from the final and gave the Tweed Homes men a third place playoff game against Forester.

The Edinburgh side were no match for Peebles power and they comfortably ran in 4 tries from captain, Drew Moore, Martin Cruikshank, David Paton and Allan Warnock, all converted by Neil Warnock.

A good tournament to get the first level of rustiness out of the system, and also give the coaches a chance to see some of the ex colts at 1st team level, with Charles Villanders, Scott Raeburn, Martin Cruikshank and Martyn Clyde all contenders for places in the coming season.

Another pre-season friendly was arranged against Selkirk for yesterday evening at Philiphaugh kick off 7.30 PM, to prepare the squad for an opening league game at Kirkcaldy next Saturday as the new format Premier 2 gets underway.

1 Willie Aitken 11 Martin Cruikshank
2 Matt Carryer 12 Calum Farmer 
3 Adam Clark 13 Dale Clancy 
4 David Harvey 14 Charles Villanders
5 Steven Irvine 15 Donald Anderson
6 Craig Borthwick 16 Andrew Brown
7 Allan Warnock 17 Rhys Wilson
8 David Paton 18 Paul Kerr
9 Drew Moore 19 David Cornwall
10 Neil Warnock 20 Scott Raeburn
 21 Martyn Clyde 22 Robert Linton 


John Swanson
Membership Secretary
PRFC Web Manager
Peebles Rugby Football Club
tel 01721 720115
Mobile 07813 256437
Email [email protected]