Eight Changes Made For Trip To Wales

Following their defeat at home to Ireland last Sunday, Scotland’s under-18 squad travels to Swansea this weekend (Sunday 10 April, Swansea RFC, kick-off 2pm) to take on their Welsh counterparts in a stand-alone international prior to participation in the FIRA/AER Tier 1 competition in France.

Head coach Grant McKelvey said: “We’re expecting a tough challenge in Wales and it’s a great opportunity for the players to show they have the strength to come back from last weekend’s defeat.”

 Chris Auld will captain the side against Wales

The side, captained by Chris Auld (pictured), sees eight changes to the starting XV. Four changes to the forwards have Robby Wilson and Johnny Matthews starting at prop and hooker respectively; Adam Sinclair comes in at lock with Stuart Graham at flanker.

Meanwhile, in the backs, Scott Steele comes in at scrum half with Tommy Allan at stand-off, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne moves from the number 10 spot to full back and Matthew Lamb starts on the left wing.

McKelvey added: “We’ve made some changes to the starting team as we have to make sure we’re managing the field better and must cope with the physicality of the Welsh.”

Their defeat in the qualifying stages of the FIRA competition to Ireland means the Scots miss out on a place in the elite tier and will now compete in tier 1 of the forthcoming age grade tournament in France where their opening opposition will be Romania.

Scotland under-18 v Wales under-18, Swansea RFC, St Helens, Sunday 10 April (kick-off 2pm)

15 Sam Hidalgo Clyne (Merchiston Castle School)

14 Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Academy) *
13 Robbie Fergusson (Ayr)
12 Chris Auld (Dumfries / Austin Friars School)CAPTAIN

11 Matthew Lamb (Stirling County)

10 Tommy Allan (London Wasps / RGS High Wycombe)
9 Scott Steele (Dumfries / Merchiston Castle School)*

1 Robby Wilson (Boroughmuir / Dunbar GS)*
2 Johnny Matthews (Leeds Carnegie / Prince Henry’s Otley)
3 Colin Hutton (Stirling County)
4 Callum Templeton (Dumfries)*
5 Adam Sinclair (Stirling County / Loretto)
6 Stuart Graham (Hawick PSA)
7 Will Bordill Sale Sharks / Sandbach School)
8 Adam Ashe (Stirling County)

16 Russell Anderson (Langholm)
17 Callum Maguire (Berwick)
18 Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County)
19 Adam Barnett (GHA / Mearns Castle School)
20 Alex Henderson (Strathallan)
21 Corey Venus (Leicester Tigrs/Leicester College)
22 Alex Glashan (Edinburgh Academy)*
23 Danny Kennedy (Congleton)
24 Rory Hughes (GHA / Glasgow MET College)*
25 Keith Buchan (Strathallan)
26 Josh Welsh (Selkirk)
*Member of the Performance Player Development Programme supported by Area Institutes of Sport