Edinburgh Fall To Glasgow Fight Back

Edinburgh U16 10 Glasgow U16  14

Glasgow staged a second half fight back to over turn a 10-0 deficit to take the honours in a glorious day for rugby at Dunbar on Sunday.

The home side dominated for long periods of the first half, pressing Glasgow back into their own half and creating a number of opportunities but only had a well worked try from Sean Mackle to show for their efforts as they turned around 5-0 ahead.

There were no sign of a change in fortunes at the start of the second half as good handling agin allowed Alex Swan to cross in the left corner just four minutes into the second half, but this proved the catalyst for Glasgow’s revival.  

Glasgow increased the tempo, contested the set piece and breakdown much more vigorously, and cut down the space they had allowed the Edinburgh backs earlier in the match. With the home side now under pressure mistakes started to creep in as they struggled to escape their own territory for long periods of the second half.

Glasgow were rewarded for their efforts when No.8 Ben Johnston powered over midway through the half, with Gavin Lowe’s conversion reducing the deficit to 10-7. Glasgow looked to have scored again soon after but, with the referee unsighted he had no option but to rule the ball held up.

The Glasgow team did not let this set-back upset their game plan and they eventually took the lead with the decisive score from Ewan Bulger, again converted by Gavin Lowe, to seal a fine comeback win.

Edinburgh complete their programme on Sunday when they travel top Braidholm, Glasgow, home of GHA, to play Border Reivers, in a match that kicks-off at 3pm.   

Edinburgh Under 16
15 Alex Swan (Edinburgh Academy/Currie) 14 Sean Mackle (North Berwick HS/North Berwick) 13 Harry Smith (Boroughmuir HS/ Boroughmuir) 12 Russell Grant (Stewart’s Melville College) 11 Ewan Smith (Balerno HS/Currie) 10 Henry Slater (North Berwick HS/ North Berwick) 9 Duncan Swanson (Balerno HS/Currie) 1 Michael Gillespie (George Watson’s College) 2 Reece Patterson (North Berwick HS/North Berwick) 3 Chris Baikie (Dunbar GS/Dunbar) 4 Neil Irvine Hess (George Watson’s College) 5 Matt Poole (George Watson’s College) 6 Scott Burnside (North Berwick HS/North Berwick) 7 Ben Flett (Merchiston Castle School) & 8 Karl Main (Dunbar GS/Dunbar)
16 Jonah Theurer (George Heriot’s/Boroughmuir) 17 William Kesley (Stewart’s Melville College) 18 William Brown (George Watson’s College) 19 Rory Simpson (Edinburgh Academy) 20 James Bedford (George Watson’s College) 21 Scott Docherty (Stewart’s Melville College) 22 Tom Salisbury (North Berwick HS/North Berwick) & 23. Rory Watt (Portobello HS/Musselburgh)