Dumfries Duo Maintain 100 Per Cent Record

Dumfries teenagers Chris Auld and Callum Templeton will once again start for Scotland under-18 in their second FIRA/AER Tier 1 competition outing in Lourdes, France tomorrow (Tuesday 19 April) kick-off 6pm BST.

After their victory over Romania at the weekend the Scots will face their German counterparts tomorrow night and for Auld and Templeton it will be their sixth start in as many matches.


Chris Auld (centre) in action for Scotland under-18 

Head coach Grant McKelvey praised the contribution of centre Auld and lock Templeton, both of whom have played from mini level at Dumfries RFC.  Auld is still at school and Templeton is an apprentice joiner in Dumfries.

“Chris has done a fantastic job for us.  He has become a leader and is captain for us by deed.  Callum brings quite an analytical and strategic rugby brain to the pack.  The pair are doing an exceptional job and helping both their fellow players and us as coaches,” McKelvey said.

Elsewhere in the starting team for tomorrow night 11 changes in personnel have been made from the team that started against Romania as the coaches stress to the players that places are up for grabs for their final match in the competition this weekend.

Scotland under-18 v Germany under-18 in the FIRA/AER Tier 1 competition in Lourdes, France tomorrow (Tuesday 19 April), kick-off 6pm BST

15 Sam Hidalgo Clyne (Merchiston Castle School)

14 Rory Hughes (GHA/Glasgow MET College)*
13 Robbie Fergusson (Ayr)
12 Chris Auld (Dumfries/Austin Friars School) CAPTAIN
11 Matthew Lamb (Stirling County)

10 Tommy Allan (London Wasps/RGS High Wycombe)
9 Alex Glashan (Edinburgh Academy)*

1 Robby Wilson (Boroughmuir/Dunbar GS)*
2 Jonathan Matthews (Leeds Carnegie/Prince Henry’s Otley)
3 Colin Hutton (Stirling County)
4 Adam Sinclair (Stirling County/Loretto)
5 Callum Templeton (Dumfries)*
6 Adam Barnett (GHA/Mearns Castle School)
8 Adam Ashe (Stirling County)
7 Stuart Graham (Hawick PSA)

16 Russell Anderson (Langholm)
17 Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County)
18 Callum Maguire (Berwick)
19 Alex Henderson (Strathallan)
20 Will Bordill (Sale Sharks/Sandbach School)
21 Scott Steele (Dumfries/Merchiston Castle School)*
22 Corey Venus (Leicester Tigers/Leicester College)
23 Danny Kennedy (Wilmslow)
24 Keith Buchan (Strathallan)
25 Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Academy)*
26 Josh Welsh (Selkirk)

* = Member of Performance Rugby Development Programme supported by Area Institutes of Sport