Second Wellington Win For Young Scots

Scotland under-17   38 - 10   England Blues

The young Scots made it two wins out of two games at this year's Wellington Festival, scoring six tries against their English opposition earlier today.

Head coach Davy Wilson said: "We had to work hard in the second half for today's win and it was another good result.

"After two games everybody has contributed and played their part, so now we have to select the side for Friday. That will be a massive game against England Reds, who have been highly regarded here this week.

"It's been a hard couple of days for the players but with good management, pool recovery and continuing the strength and conditioning work the boys will be ready to go again."

Photo: Ben Cooper, who kicked three conversions today


After a slow start to the fixture, the Scots were put under pressure and England seized the advantage to score after four minutes, the try unconverted (0-5).

The score galvanized Scotland into a good attacking phase, forcing the opposition back into their 22. Good hands from centres Cameron Jeffrey and Sam Moncur led to recycled ball and to captain Chris Dean crashing over the line for Scotland's first try (5-5).

With the action centred in midfield, both teams then made a series of errors and Scotland missed a penalty. From the restart, however, number 8 Dean drove through the English defence and offloaded for Moncur to score, the try converted by stand-off Gregor Mein.

A period of sustained pressure just before half time led to a try for England, five minutes before the break, with the Scots leading by two points at the half-time whistle.

(HT - 12-10)

Scotland's third try came ten minutes into the second half following a scrum 30m out from the English line, the ball picked up by Dean, offloaded to scrum half Josh Rutnagur and flipped back to lock Cameron Turner to cut through England's defence and score. The try was converted by replacement Ben Cooper. (19-10)

After some good work in midfield five minutes later, winger Neil Herron cut in from the touchline to run in a superb try from 40m, the score converted again by Cooper. (26-10). The fifth try came after 22 minutes when a turnover at the scrum resulted in Turner crossing for his second, the conversion from Cooper making it 33-10.

As the clock ticked down, a break from Herron (now moved to centre) who offloaded to Jeffrey led to the latter flipping the ball inside to Sam Moncur who scored Scotland's sixth and final try.

FT - 38-10

The festival concludes on April 22 when the two English Divisions will join the six other sides with England Blues v English Division (North) at 10am, England Reds v Scotland at 11am, Belgium v English Division (Midlands) at 12noon and Canada v France A at 1pm.

Selkirk RFC then hosts Scotland under-17s as they take on France under-17s at Philiphaugh on Sunday 1 May (kick-off 2pm, admission free).

Scotland under-17 v England Blues, Tuesday 19 April, Wellington School, Berkshire

15  Damien Hoyland (James Gillespie HS / Boroughmuir)
14  Ruaridh Smith (North Berwick HS / North Berwick)
13  Sam Moncur (St Ambrose College / Sale)
12  Cameron Jeffrey (Epsom College) (pictured above)
11  Neil Herron (Jordanhill School)
10  Gregor Mein (Gala Academy / Gala Wands)
9  Josh Rutnagur (Hutchesons’ Grammar School / GHA)

1  James Malcolm (Hutchesons’ Grammar School / GHA)
2  Scott Rendall (Orkney RFC)
3  Darcy Rae (Marr College / Kilmarnock)
4  Cameron Turner (Robert Gordon's College)
5  * Magnus Bradbury (Oban HS / Oban Lorne)
6  Peter Redmayne (Loudoun Academy / Kilmarnock)
7  *Shaun McDonald (Dunblane HS / Stirling County RFC)
8  Chris Dean (Edinburgh Academy) (captain)

16  Tom Moncur (St Ambrose / Sale) (on for Rendall)
17  *Chris Barnes (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks)
18  Fraser Irvine (Selkirk HS / Selkirk YC)
19  Buchan Richardson (Wellington College) (on for Turner)
20  Cameron Simpson (Edinburgh Academy)
22  Ramsay Young (George Watson's College) (on for Rutnagur)
23  Ben Cooper (Sedbergh) (on for Mein)
24  Tony Boyd (Marr College / Kilmarnock)
25  Blair Hutchinson (Longridge Towers / Melrose Wasps) (on for Smith)

Duncan Campbell (Mackie Academy / Mackie RFC) (not selected due to injury)
*Ruairidh Young (Loretto School / Musselburgh) (not selected due to injury)

* Member of Performance Player Development Programme supported by Institute of Sport Network