Young Scots Aim To Finish Festival With A Flourish

Scotland’s under-17s take on England Reds in their third and final match at the Wellington Festival in Berkshire tomorrow (Friday 22 April, Wellington College, kick-off 11am).

With both teams remaining the only unbeaten sides this week, head coach Davy Wilson is under no illusion of the challenge that lies ahead.

He said: “We saw everybody play over the first two games and although this is a development process, we are looking to put out a team capable of beating England Reds tomorrow.

“The players are in good spirits and we’ve been focusing on those areas we’ve been looking to improve on since the last game against England Blues."

Photo: Centre Blair Hutchinson makes the tackle against France A

The festival concludes tomorrow (April 22) when the two English Divisions join the six other sides with England Blues v English Division (North) at 10am, England Reds v Scotland at 11am, Belgium v English Division (Midlands) at 12noon and Canada v France A at 1pm.

In terms of squad development, the value of this Festival week cannot be underestimated as Wilson adds: “The boys have been together 24/7, getting to know each other and working together so that when they get on to the field they compete as a unit; there’s no substitute for this kind of team bonding.”

Scotland’s under-17s then play their first and only game on home territory when they’re hosted by Selkirk RFC and take on France under-17s at Philiphaugh on Sunday 1 May (kick-off 2pm, admission free).

Scotland under-17 v England Reds, Friday 22 April, Wellington College, kick-off 11am

15 *Ruairidh Young (Loretto School / Musselburgh) 
14 Damien Hoyland (James Gillespie HS / Boroughmuir) 
13 Blair Hutchinson (Longridge Towers / Melrose Wasps) 
12 Neil Herron (Jordanhill School) 
11 Sam Moncur (St Ambrose College / Sale) 

10 Ben Cooper (Sedbergh) 
9 Ramsay Young (George Watson's College) 

1 James Malcolm (Hutchesons’ Grammar / GHA) 
2 Tom Moncur (St Ambrose / Sale) 
3 *Chris Barnes (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks) 
4 Duncan Campbell (Mackie Academy / Mackie RFC)  
5 Cameron Turner (Robert Gordon's College) 
6 Cameron Simpson (Edinburgh Academy) 
7 *Shaun McDonald (Dunblane HS / Stirling County RFC) 
8 Chris Dean (Edinburgh Academy) 

16 Scott Rendall (Orkney RFC) 
17 Darcy Rae (Marr College / Kilmarnock) 
18 Fraser Irvine (Selkirk HS / Selkirk YC) 
19 *Magnus Bradbury (Oban HS / Oban Lorne) 
20 Buchan Richardson (Wellington College) 
21 Peter Redmayne (Loudoun Academy / Kilmarnock) 
22 Josh Rutnagur (Hutchesons’ Grammar School / GHA) 
23 Gregor Mein (Gala Academy / Gala Wands) 
24 Cameron Jeffrey (Epsom College) 
25 Tony Boyd (Marr College / Kilmarnock) 
26 Ruaridh Smith (North Berwick HS / North Berwick) 

* Member of Performance Player Development Programme supported by Institute of Sport Network