Ireland Punish Scots In Frantic Finish

IRB Junior World Championship - Pool C: Under-20 international Scotland 13 Ireland 30

Scotland will be battling to finish in ninth place in the IRB Junior World Championship in Italy this coming week as a consequence of their 13-30 loss to their Irish counterparts at the Stadio Mario Battaglini in Rovigo tonight.

The Scots will now face Tonga, familiar opponents in previous championships, when they begin the fixtures in the ninth-12th place section in the same Rovigo stadium at 6pm Italian time, 5pm BST on Wednesday (22 June).


Stirling County centre Danny Gilmour scored the Scots' only try

Once again, just as had been the case against England under-20, the concession of late tries proved the Scots' undoing.  Having clawed their way back to a 6-9 deficit with around ten minutes of normal time remaining courtesy of Duncan Weir's second penalty, Ireland enjoyed a purple patch of three tries in five minutes to end the contest.

Stirling County centre Danny Gilmour did pull back a try in the dying stages, converted by his Bridgehaugh team-mate, Stuart Edwards, but it was really only academic.

Scotland head coach Peter Wright lamented: "We have to learn to play for 80 minutes and to take our chances because we did have opportunities."

Scotland trailed 3-6 at the interval, Glasgow Warriors' stand-off Duncan Weir landing a 13th minute penalty but mis-cuing with two other attempts.

His opposite number Paddy Jackson's radar was better attuned as the Irishman goaled two out of three penalty attempts, his successes occurring in the first and 23rd minute.

Scotland had not been clinical enough in that first period but after Jackson and Weir had exchanged penalties in the 52nd and 67th minutes respectively, the Irish capitalised on turnovers and Scots' errors to plunder three tries in five minutes through wing Andrew Conway, centre Luke Marshall and hooker Niall Annett. Jackson added one conversion and his substitute James McKinney nailed the other two.

Scotland under-20 (sponsor RBS)

15 Glenn Bryce (Stirling County)

14 Sam Atkin (Edinburgh Accies)
13 Mark Bennett (Clermont Auvergne)
12 Danny Gilmour (Stirling County)
11 Kerr Gossman (Glasgow Hawks)

10 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
9 Sean Kennedy (Stirling County)

1 Alex Allan (Loughborough University)
2 David Cherry (Team Northumbria)
3 Colin Phillips (Edinburgh Rugby/Stewart’s Melville)
4 Mitchell Todd (Nottingham)
5 Robert McAlpine (West of Scotland/Glasgow Warriors)
6 Mitch Eadie (Boroughmuir)
8 James Tyas (Bath)
7 Hamish Watson (Leicester Tigers)

Substitutes: Richard Ferguson (Melrose) for Cherry; George Hunter(Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks) for Phillips, Jamie Swanson (Boroughmuir) for McAlpine, Robin Hislop (Edinburgh Rugby/Boroughmuir) for Allan all 60 minutes; Jamie Stevenson (Westcombe Park) for Gossman (62 mins); Alex Spence (Heriot's) for Tyas (72 minutes); Stuart Edwards (Stirling County) for Weir (76 mins). 

Referee: Greg Garner (England)