Wright Sticks With Winning Formula For Final Clash

Head coach Peter Wright has made just one change to the bench for Scotland under-20’s IRB Junior World Championship ninth-place playoff against Argentina in Rovigo on Sunday (26 June, kick-off 1.10pm BST).

Wright said: “We haven’t changed the starting fifteen because the boys who achieved a great victory against Tonga deserve the chance to repeat their efforts with Argentina.


“We want to reward those guys for that massive physical achievement and we believe that this is our strongest team.

“We have gone for a five forward, two back split on the bench because Argentina are a physical team who will take us on up front. Therefore this will pay dividends in the latter stages of the match.

“We want to finish the tournament on a high and continue from our victory earlier in the week. The boys realise they are good enough to win.”
Scotland under-20 team v Argentina under-20 at the Stadio Mario Battaglini, Rovigo on Sunday 26 June), kick-off 1.10pm (BST)
15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)
14 Mark Bennett (Clermont Auvergne)
13 Sam Atkin (Edinburgh Accies)
12 Danny Gilmour (Stirling County)
11 Kerr Gossman (Glasgow Hawks)
10 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
9 Sean Kennedy (Stirling County)
1 Alex Allan (Loughborough University)
2 Richard Ferguson (Melrose)
3 Colin Phillips (Edinburgh Rugby / Stewart’s Melville)
4 Mitchell Todd (Nottingham)
5 Robert McAlpine (Glasgow Warriors / West of Scotland)
6 Mitch Eadie (Boroughmuir)
7 Hamish Watson (Leicester Tigers)
8 James Tyas (Bath)

16 Michael Liness (Edinburgh Accies)
17 George Hunter (Glasgow Warriors / Glasgow Hawks)
18 Robin Hislop (Edinburgh Rugby / Boroughmuir)
19 Jamie Swanson (Boroughmuir)
20 Jamie Stevenson (Westcombe Park)
21 Glenn Bryce (Stirling County)
22 Alex Spence (Heriot’s)