Training Day Success For Young Scots

In their first outing of the season, Scotland's under-18 players took the points against a physical Belgian under-19 side yesterday (Saturday 13 August).

The training match, on the back pitches at Murrayfield, produced a final score of 25-15 to the home side, Scotland's tries courtesy of prop Phil Cringle and flankers Robbie Tait and Peter Redmayne; stand-off Callum Irvine added two penalties and a conversion with Ben Cooper, who replaced Irvine at number 10, nailing the final conversion.

Head coach Grant McKelvey said: "I thought we coped pretty well against a physical side who were a year older than our guys. In fact considering the number of players aged under 17 and the fact it was our first hit-out, we can be happy with the result."

He added: "We have some work to do with regard to our accuracy and ball retention before we travel to Newcastle next weekend to play under more competitive circumstances."

After that game the coaches and selectors will continue to go out ad about in the community with a view to forming a further squad for the next training weekend in early October.

Scotland under-18: Ruaridh Smith (Northampton Saints), Angus Rennie (Strathallan), Sam Moncur (Sale Sharks), Cameron Jeffrey (Epsom College / King's), Edward Farqharson (Aberdeen Grammar), Callum Irvine (Harrogate Grammar), Murdo McAndrew (Bell Baxter / Howe of Fife), Ross Murray (Dollar Academy/Stirling County), James Malcolm (Hutchesons' Grammar), Phil Cringle (Sale Sharks), Duncan Campbell (Robert Gordon's College), Jonny Gray (Calderglen HS / Cambuslang), Scott Jackson (Hull Ionians), Robbie Tait (Millfield / Bath), Cameron Turner (Robert Gordon's College).
Substitutes (all used): Chris Barnes (High School of Glasgow), Scott Rendall (Orkney), Peter Redmayne (Loudoun Academy / Kilmarnock), Angus Thomson (Biggar Academy / Biggar RFC), Ramsay Young (George Watson's College), Ben Cooper (Sedbergh), Harry Walker (Glasgow Academy).
Non playing squad members: Magnus Bradbury (Merchiston Castle / Oban Lorne), Richard Taylor (Earlston / Melrose).

Belgium under-19: Kevin Dams, Eliott Van Trappen, Guillaume Piron, Jens Torfs, Thomas De Meeus, Arthur Tixhon, Jean-Baptiste Amilhat, Anthony Ravanelli, Jack Bastin, Lucas Sotteau, Jeremy Lenaerts, Jef Van Tricht, Romain Heyndrickx, Xavier Bossert, Thomas De Molder.
Substitutes: Christophe Buchelot, Laurent Donne, Nicolas Raykov, Lelio Guilmard, Quentin Leclercq, William Feron.