Rbs Premier A Preview: Round 2

RBS Premier A returns to action tomorrow with now only six teams going head-to-head in what is becoming an extremely close league.

Dundee HSFP welcome Stirling County to Mayfield, while Gala compete with Currie for the Bill McLaren Shield at Netherdale and Melrose travel to Meggetland to face Boroughmuir.

Due to a waterlogged pitch at Millbrae the Ayr versus Aberdeen Grammar Rugby match has been postponed.

Dundee HSFP v Stirling County, Mayfield, 2pm
After an phenomenal fightback against Melrose two weeks ago, Ian Rankin welcomes wing Jack Steele and full-back Cam Wyper back to the fold in pursuit of the top spot. Graeme Young has centre Brian Archibald and lock Craig Deacons  back from injury.

Dundee head coach, Ian Rankin, said: “Attention to detail and ensuring the basics are carried out accurately is where we have focussed our attention this week.

“We look forward to welcoming Stirling to Mayfield after they ran Ayr very close in their last league game. Their backline made ground every time they had the ball at Millbrae.”

Graeme Young, said: “Dundee and Stirling fixtures have recently been keenly contested games and we are looking forward to the challenge on Saturday.”

Dundee team: Cam Wyper; Andy McLean, Robbie Lavery, Harry Duthie, Jack Steele; Cam Brown, Andy Dymock; Neil Dymock (captain), Darrel Russell, Alan Brown, Andy Linton, Richie Hawkins, Richie McIvor, Chris Cumming, Danny Levison.
Replacements: Callum Kerr, Gav Robertson, Jamie Morrison, Colin Strachan, Ross Lemon.

Stirling County team: Ben Addison; Graham Lindsay, Danny Gilmour, Brian Archibald, Mike Donegan; Stuart Edwards, Dave Maw; Mike McDonald, Alex Moffat (captain), Garry Mountford, Craig Deacons, Robert McAlpine, Steve Swindall, Tim Clarke, Bengy Bersanti.
Replacements: Craig Robertson, Colin Hutton, John Graham, Jamie Bhatti, Robbie Boswell.

Gala v Currie, Netherdale, 2pm
The game at Netherdale is a Bill McLaren Shield crunch match. Gala will look to revive themselves after being defeated two weeks ago at Rubislaw while Currie will be keen to put in a winning performance that will get them the Bill McLaren trophy for the first time.

Gala head coach, George Graham, said: “We’re looking to get back on track after being derailed in Aberdeen two weeks ago.
“Currie will be a tough nut to crack again, but the lads are in good fettle.”

Currie head coach, Ally Donaldson, said: “Gala have proved their worth time and again this season and will be desperate for a win after losing their opening RBS Premier A match.

“The league is very delicately poised and every match is massively important. We look forward to our first league match at Netherdale in a number of years.”

Gala team: Lee Millar; Shaun Law, Alan Emond, Bryce Turner, Craig Robertson; Gregor Hunter, George Graham; Luke Pettie, Lewis Roden, Ewan McQuillin, Chris Weir, Opeta Palepoi, Gary Graham, Gary Lowrie, Tom Weir.
Replacements: Alan Johnston, David Marshall, Euan Dods, Andy McLean, Craig Borthwick.

Currie team: Douglas Fife; Barry Mansfield, James Johnstone, Andy MacMahon, Dave Smith;  Jamie Forbes, Richard Snedden; John Cox, Finlay Gillies, Colin Phillips, Simon Marcell, Gary Temple, Steve Burton, Mark Cairns (captain), Ross Weston.
Replacements: Ross Merrilees, Mike Erskine, Adam Best, Malcolm Peacock, Alan Whittingham

Boroughmuir v Melrose, Meggetland, 3pm
Fergus Pringle welcomes Harry Fenton and Lynton Brinck to the side. They earn their first start for the capital side after some outstanding performances with the 2nd XV, while Melrose look to get the defence of their premier title back on track.

Melrose head coach, Craig Chalmers, said: “It's been a long two weeks since our last game and a disappointing defeat to a strong Dundee team.

“Although the result didn't go our way as well as a few other things, we did manage to play some excellent high tempo rugby for long periods.

“We have trained well and worked hard since then and can't wait to get back out there and right the wrongs from our last game. It's a must win game for us to get us back on track and regain our momentum.”

Boroughmuir team: Sep Visser; Robert Cairns, Malcolm Clapperton, Stevie Wilson, Jordan Webster; Ally Warnock, Harry Fenton; Nick Fraser, Sean Crombie, Jonny Latta, Lynton Brinck, Greg Scott, Neil Rodger, Andrew Rose, Iain Moody.
Replacements: Callum Mackintosh, Robbie Wilson, Matt Harvey, Sam Johnson, Graeme Blackhall.

Melrose team: Fraser  Thomson; Allan  Dodds, Bruce Dick, Cammie Murray, Jamie Murray; Scott Wight, Bruce Colvine; Nicky Little, Richard  Ferguson, Gary Holborn, Stuart Johnson, Ross Miller, Ross Ovens, Graham Dodds, Grant Runciman.
Replacements: Nick Beavon, Chris Keen, David Crawford, Scott McCormick, Andrew Skeen.

 Ayr v Aberdeen Grammar, Millbrae, CANCELLED