Edinburgh Under 16 – Team Announced For Match V Borders

The Edinburgh under 16 management can now confirm the 23 players selected to play in the first National Selection Fixture v Scottish Borders on the 7th Match 2012, with a 7.30pm kick off on the back pitch at Murrayfield. The first game will be Caledonia v Glasgow kicking off at 6pm.

Head coach, Kevin Brown said ‘This is a fantastic opportunity for these young players to promote themselves to take another step up the representative ladder. The emphasis has been on individual and team performance to showcase the skills and game understanding that they have, and all are aware of the challenge that lies ahead against the Borders. This is a development programme and playing at a more intense level will be a big learning curve for them, but we have been impressed with the attitude and work ethic of the players and now it is over to them to gel as a team and perform.’

Team Manager Duncan Anderson, who in his day job works within the professional environment at Edinburgh Rugby, has also been impressed with the players so far ‘The players have come together as a squad quickly under the expert guidance of Kevin and Sean. There are some exciting players in the backs and some hard working physical units in the forwards. I look forward to seeing the players step on the pitch and hopefully over the coming years see some of them progress to professional level with Edinburgh Rugby’

Ben Fisher – Regional Academy Coach – [email protected]
Kevin Brown – Coach
Sean Scott – Coach
Duncan Anderson – Manager
Malcolm Colquhoun - Physio

Edinburgh Rugby U16 v Borders U16
Wednesday 7th March
Murrayfield Stadium
KO: 7.30 pm

15 - Paul McClung (Knox Academy/Haddington)

14 - Calum Ramn (Trinity Academy/Boroughmuir)
13 - Matthew McPhillips (Dunbar GS/Dunbar)
12 - Adam Hastings (George Watson's College)
11 - Ben Robbins (George Watson's College)

10 - Finn Murphy (George Heriot's School/Heriots)
 9 - Daniel Nutton (Merchiston Castle School)

 1 - Murray Berg (Preston Lodge HS/Musselburgh)
 2 - Denham Blair (Dunbar GS/Dunbar)
 3 - Dugald Berezford (George Watson's College/Boroughmuir)
 4 - Leo Gordon (North Berwick)
 5 - Hamish Robertson (Stewart's melville College/Musselburgh)
 6 - Scott Burnside (North Berwick HS)
 7 - Jake Kerr (George Watson's College)
 8 - Ally Miller (George Watson's College/Musselburgh RFC)

16 - Finlay Glynn (North Berwick HS)
17 - John Lacelles (Merchiston Castle School)
18 - Eddie Irvine (George Watson's College)
19 - Fraser Christie (Stewart's melville College)
20 - Dougal Balfour (Merchiston Castle School/Boroughmuir)
21 - Craig Hunter (Stewart's melville College)
22 - Alistair Grassie (Fettes College)
23 - Dominic Clark-Venters (Boroughmuir HS/Boroughmuir)