Brewin Dolphin Scottish Schools Bowl Finals

Under-18: Boroughmuir/James Gillespie’s HS v Queen Victoria School, Dunblane
Under-16: Madras College v Hawick HS

The finals of the Brewin Dolphin Scottish Schools Bowl at both under-16 and under-18 level take place on the back pitches at Murrayfield tomorrow night (Tuesday 20 March, both kick-off at 6pm).


Who will follow in the footsteps of Alva Academy, winners of the under-18 Brewin Dolphin Bowl last year? 

In the under-18 final Boroughmuir/James Gillespie’s High Schools will face Queen Victoria School, while in the under-16 final it’s Madras College from St Andrews against Hawick High School.

Ian Thom, the coach of the Boroughmuir/James Gillespie’s team, took the majority of his charges on a four-match, 12 day tour to Toronto, Canada last June winning three of their games then.  “My vision has always been a team that would enjoy their rugby and get on well together,” he explained.

Around 13 of his team most likely will be available next season and having qualified through the regional competition and then accounted for Bearsden/Douglas Academies in the quarter-final and Queen Anne/Dunfermline HS in the semi-final, there’s eager anticipation ahead of tomorrow.

“It means an awful lot to the team to reach the final.  They’re chuffed to be there,” he added.

His counterpart at QVS, Duncan McLay reckons tomorrow is a “good end to what has been a very good season for us.”

“We’re a small school and we’re a team that have really developed through our spirit more than anything else.  We play exciting rugby and tomorrow we’ll look to play to our strengths and keep the ball alive.”  Queen Victoria eclipsed Culloden Academy and Dunbar Grammar School to reach tomorrow’s final.

Meanwhile in the under-16 competition Madras have already had a taster of finals at Murrayfield, winning their regional final against Queen Anne HS and being presented with their silverware during half-time in an Edinburgh Rugby v Cardiff Blues match.

“The format’s been really good this year, moving from regional to national,” said their coach, Jim Tarvet.  Within the national phase, Madras undertook a 17-hour round coach trip to Plockton High School to win their quarter-final and then prospered in a high-scoring semi-final against Trinity Academy.

Hawick HS coach David Marshall believed their regional semi-final win through the last play of the game against Selkirk HS, has been a key pillar in their success this season.

In the national stage Hawick defeated Shawlands Academy/Kings Park Secondary in the quarter-final and then enjoyed a semi-final victory against Biggar HS.

“We feel we have a lot of pace and power out wide and our forwards are glad to do the dirty work to get that ball out there," he noted.

Admission to the Brewin Dolphin Scottish Schools Bowl Finals at both under-16 and under-18 level is FREE. 


Under-18 final:

Boroughmuir/James Gillespie’s HS: Jordan Edmunds; Callum Turner, Harry Smith, Callum Macdonald, Elliot Kingsley; Blair Wycherley, Grant Burberry; Connor McCormack, Lewis Robinson captain, Demetries Gregoriou, Tom White, Lewis Johnstone, James McGinley, Paul Dobson and Jack Keane.  Subs: Finlay Watson-Kerr, Ben Harrison, Craig Everett, John Newman, Niall Simpson, Mark Cashman, Liam Nelson

Queen Victoria School: Suja Lama; Connor Dickson, Craig Millar, Steve Craig, Calum Marshall; Corin Domanski, Callam Halliday; Veeransh Bohora, Cory McGown, Cameron Hunter, Kieran Shaw, Garry Carr, Jordan Angus, Oliver Mitchell and William Lynch.  Subs: Anthony Tickle, Jamie Riddock, Jake Bedwell and Cammy Carr.

Under-16 final:

Madras College: Hamish Anderson; Jack Maclean, Scott Aitken, Calum Stewart, Thomas Delavaine; Jon Price, David Hodge; Ewan Cameron, Roarke Hughes, Chris Charnley, Alisdair Taylor, James Allan, Jamie Gillan, Shaw Palmer and James Picken. Subs: Steven Ritchie, Colin Weir, Charlie Stewart, Kyle Finlayson, Frank MacArthur, William Tooze, Justin Stewart.

Hawick HS: Craig Glendinning; Sean Solley, Grant Huggan, Dalton Redpath, Ryan Elliot; Dean Gillan, Bryan Hall; Robbie Linton, Emanuel Silviera, Chez Breiter, John Gray, Jason Scott, MacAuley Trotter, Robbie Mclean and Colin Richardson. Subs: Reece Hartdegen, Fraser Renwick, Deaglan Lightfoot, Rhys Jeffrey, William Ballantyne, Aidan Anderson, Sean Chapman.