Scots Suffer From Inconsistency

Ireland under-18 25 v Scotland under-18 12

Scotland under-18 lost to their Irish counterparts 12-25 at Coolmine RFC in Dublin this afternoon, far from the build-up head coach Eddie Pollock would have wanted ahead of the FIRA/AER European under-18 championship in Spain this week.

“It was an inconsistent performance – a step back for us today,” lamented Pollock.  “I was most disappointed with our lineout and if you can’t get a setpiece platform it’s always going to be difficult.”The Scots trailed 5-18 at the break, their problems in the lineout being compounded by turnovers at the breakdown so defence was very much the order of the day.


Aberdeen Grammar winger Ed Farquharson scored two tries for Scotland in their defeat in Dublin

Having fallen behind 0-18 they did pull back one try before the interval, centre Neil Heron scything through to release Ed Farquharson for a fine score.  Sadly Ben Cooper missed the conversion.

Pollock used all the players from his bench in the second-half but the frantic desire to play catch-up led, arguably, to too many attempted offloads rather than going through a few more phases.

Ireland added a penalty try in the second-half and the Scots’ response was to up their own tempo.  From a tap penalty ball was worked to Farquharson and the Aberdeen Grammar wing completed his brace.  Substitute Gavin Lowe converted from the touchline.

The Scots now travel to Spain on Wednesday for their opening game in the championship – against France on Friday.

Scotland under-18: Grant McConnell (Millfield); Sam Pecquer (Trinity Academy), Frankie Robson (Kelso HS / Kelso), Neil Herron (West of Scotland / Jordanhill School) *, Ed Farquharson (Aberdeen Grammar / Cults Academy); Ben Cooper (Sedbergh School), Alex Glashan CAPTAIN (Edinburgh Academy) *; D'arcy Rae (Kilmarnock) *, James Malcolm (Hutchesons' GS / GHA), Phil Cringle (Kirkham GS / Douglas) Duncan Campbell (Robert Gordon's College / Mackie)*; Neil Irvine-Hess George Watson's College) * Tommy Spinks (Fettes College), Chris Dean (Edinburgh Academy) * and Cameron Turner (Robert Gordon's College) *.  Subs:  Blair Jardine (Kilmarnock / Carrick Academy), Chris Barnes (HS of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks) *, Ross Murray (Dollar / Stirling County) *, Andrew Cramond (Royal High / BATs), Robbie Tait (Millfield), Murdo McAndrew (Howe of Fife / Strathallan), Gavin Lowe (Ayr) *, Cameron Mackenzie-Lawrie (Warwick School).  *Scottish Institute of Sport supported player 2011/12