Worthy Effort By Under-18S Against French

In their opening match of the FIRA-AER under-18 tournament although Scotland were defeated 19-7 by a powerful French outfit, head coach Eddie Pollock was full of praise for their outstanding effort and commitment.

He said: "I'm absolutely delighted by their overall performance - France are a big side. We soaked up a huge amount of pressure, our passing game has come on so much and our attitude and commitment were faultless."

France initially went ahead through an interesting penalty try decision, with Scotland's try scored by Ed Farquharson (photo) and conversion from Ben Cooper. Scotland now face Portugal on Tuesday (3 April).

A call for obstructing a French player getting to the ball led to a penalty try for the opposition early in the first half. Scotland then enjoyed the majority of ball for the rest of the period, putting the physical French under pressure and keeping the score at 7-0 for half time.

Scotland kept up the pressure and pace as the second half got underway until a loose pass, which almost went out of play, was scooped up by the opposition and carried over the line. A second easy score followed putting the French 19-0 to the good.

The Scots regrouped and sustained pressure led to their try, from winger Ed Farquharson, the score converted by substitute stand-off Ben Cooper.

Pollock said: "It was a great game and there were some fantastic performances from the boys."

On Tuesday the Scots will meet Portugal, who lost to Ireland earlier today. Their final game, to decide placings, is on Saturday 7 April where they will meet either Italy or Georgia.

"Our challenge now is to put in two really good games and finish fifth, the best we can now," Pollock added.

Scotland under-18 v France under-18

15   Gavin Lowe   
14   Ed Farquharson   
13   Cameron Mackenzie-Lawrie   
12   Neil Herron   
11   Shaun MacDonald   
10   Callum Irvine    
9    Murdo McAndrew   

1    James Malcom   
2    Blair Jardine   
3    Phil Cringle   
4    Andrew Cramond   
5    Neil Irvine-Hess   
6    Cameron Simpson   
7    Chris Dean   
8    Cameron Turner   

16    Ross Murray   
17    Chris Barnes    (on for Cringle)
18    D’arcy Rae   
19    Duncan Campbell    (on for Cramond)
20    Robbie Tait    (on for Turner)
21    Tommy Spinks   
22    Alex Glashan    (on for McAndrew)
23    Ben Cooper    (on for Irvine)
24    Frankie Robson   
25    Sam Pecqueur    (on for Lowe)
26    Sam Moncur (on for MacDonald)