Spanish Snow Flurries Keep Scots On Their Toes

Scotland under-18 completed their preparations for their final match in the FIRA/AER European Championships in Madrid tomorrow amidst snow flurries.Such weather is atypical in the Iberian peninsular and come kick-off in the fifth place play-off match against their Georgian counterparts tomorrow (Saturday, 12.45pm local time), more conventional weather of dry and 17C is forecast.

Scotland head coach Eddie Pollock has made five changes and one positional switch for tomorrow’s game from the starting line-up that secured a victory over Portugal in midweek.


Cameron Turner, Ed Farquharson and Neil Irvine-Hess ready to give full voice against the Georgians

Centre Neil Herron, scrum-half Murdo McAndrew, No 8 Chris Dean, flanker Cameron Simpson and prop Chris Barnes are all called up for this match and captain Cameron Turner switches from back-row to lock.

Pollock said: “We’ve watched the Georgians this week and they are very much like their senior national team, physical and dynamic in their carrying.

“It will be important for us to get out of our third well and play the game in the right areas of the pitch and discipline will also be a key factor.

“If we finish with two wins out of three, having had a good performance in defeat against France last week, that would be a successful FIRA campaign,” he added.

Scotland under-18 v Georgia under-18 in the FIRA/AER European Championship in Madrid tomorrow (Saturday), kick-off 12.45pm local time

15 Gavin Lowe (Ayr)*

14 Ed Farquharson (Aberdeen Grammar/Cults Academy)
13 Cameron Mackenzie-Lawrie (Warwick School)
12 Neil Herron (West of Scotland/Jordanhill School)*
11 Sam Moncur (Sale Sharks/St Ambrose College)

10 Ben Cooper (Sedbergh School)
9 Murdo McAndrew (Howe of Fife/Strathallan)

1 D’arcy Rae ((Kilmarnock)*
2 Blair Jardine (Kilmarnock/Carrick Academy)
3 Chris Barnes (Glasgow Hawks/ HS of Glasgow)*
4 Cameron Turner (Robert Gordon’s College) CAPTAIN *
5 Neil Irvine-Hess (George Watson’s College) *
6 Cameron Simpson (Edinburgh Academy)
7 Robbie Tait (Millfield School)
8 Chris Dean (Edinburgh Academy)*


16 Ross Murray (Stirling County/Dollar Academy)*
17 Cameron Fenton (Howe of Fife/Strathallan)
18 James Malcolm (GHA/Hutchesons’ GS)
19 Duncan Campbell (Mackie Academy FP/Robert Gordon’s College)*
20 Andrew Cramond (BATs/Royal HS)
21 Tommy Spinks (Fettes College)
22 Alex Glashan (Edinburgh Academy)*
23 Callum Irvine (Harrogate)
24 Frankie Robson (Kelso/Kelso HS)
25 Sam Pecqueur (Trinity Academy)
26 Shaun MacDonald (Stirling County/Dunblane HS)

* = Scottish Institute of Sport supported player 2011-2012.