Legacy Sevens Series Kicks-Off In Stirling

Rugby’s Legacy Sevens Series returns this weekend as some of the country’s top club sides battle it out in the opening round at Stirling County Sevens (first tie 12 noon).

The Legacy Sevens Series brings together the already established sevens events at Stirling County (Sunday 22 April), Boroughmuir (Friday 27 April) Howe of Fife (Saturday 5 May), Hamilton (Saturday 12 May) and Glasgow City (Saturday 14 May). The series was launched last year as part of Glasgow’s legacy programme for the 2014 Commonwealth Games.


Bridgehaugh will host the first leg of the 2012 Legacy Sevens series this Sunday

Ten core teams will play in each tournament including the five host teams (Stirling County, Boroughmuir, Howe of Fife, Hamilton and Cartha Queen’s Park), with Glasgow Hawks, Stewarts Melville FP, Dalziel, Aberdeen Grammar and Dundee HSFP also competing. A number of guest teams will also be invited by each individual host tournament.
The overall winner will be the side that accumulates the most points across all four events, with double points being awarded at the Glasgow City Sevens. The Glasgow City Sevens is the final event in the series and is delivered in partnership between Cartha Queen’s Park Rugby Club and Glasgow Life on behalf of the city of Glasgow.

The Legacy Sevens Series is backed by Glasgow City Council, Glasgow Life, Scottish Rugby and rugby clubs across Scotland. It will assist player development and increase awareness of rugby sevens ahead of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

A spokesman for the Legacy Sevens Series said: “Last year’s Legacy Sevens Series was a great success and we are looking forward to the action getting underway again this weekend when all eyes will be on Stirling County. It is shaping up to be a fantastic opening event.

“We want as many people as possible to come along and experience sevens at the various tournaments over the next month, starting at Stirling on Sunday. Sevens is fast, action-packed and great to watch and that is why this Series proved so popular in its first year. We want this year to be even better.

“The Series is also helping build awareness of sevens ahead of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. By helping bring sevens to a new audience we will deliver a real legacy from the Games.”

Notes to Editor:

The Scoring system for the Legacy Sevens Series is as follows:

• 15 points  for tournament winners
• 10 points for losing finalists or plate winners
• 7 points for reaching a semi-final
• 5 points for reaching a quarter-final
• 2 points for attending a tournament