Scottish Rugby Council Election

Two representatives from the new Championship divisions were elected to the Scottish Rugby Council at a meeting at Murrayfield tonight.

In the first round of voting former referee John Steele (Dumfries) was returned to the Council having received 20 votes, while the two other candidates Ian Barr (Lasswade) and Bob Hogarth (Peebles) both polled six votes each.


Therefore a second ballot was required, where Barr, the Lasswade president, received 20 votes and Hogarth 12.

Both John Steele and Ian Barr have been duly elected to the Scottish Rugby Council with effect from the Union’s agm at the end of June.