Under-20 Team Named For Junior World Championship Opener

Scotland under-20 head coach, Peter Wright, has named his team of 23 to take on Australia under-20, in the Scots opening match of the 2012 IRB Junior World Championship (JWC) at the University of the Western Cape, Cape Town, on Monday 4 June (kick-off 1.45pm UK time).

Edinburgh Rugby stand-off Harry Leonard will captain the side for the fifth time this season as his team look to build on their last two victories over Italy (20-7), in the RBS 6 Nations Championship, and English Counties (33-16), part of their JWC preparations.

Four of Edinburgh Rugby’s latest Elite Development players, named last week, have made the cut, along with three of Glasgow Warriors’. They are Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Jamie Farndale, Robin Hislop and George Turner for the capital side and Finn Russell, Fergus Scott and Murray McConnell from the west.

Finn Russell against France under-20 in this year's RBS 6 Nations Championship 

Head coach Peter Wright said: “We have picked a team that we feel will challenge Australia well. A handful of the players selected have experienced the Australians before and know what they are capable of. They will be tough but I believe all 23 players can front up and compete at this level.

“The core group of players showed consistency throughout the RBS 6 Nations Championship and this is definitely our strongest back division. I have also chosen to play Andrew Nagle at number 8 and put Jamie Swanson on the flank to see how they work together.”

Scotland under-20 to play Australia under-20 on Monday 4 June at 1.45pm (UK time) in IRB JWC:

15 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby / Heriot’s)

14 Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Rugby / Edinburgh Accies)
13 Mark Bennett (Clermont Auvergne)
12 Finn Russell (Glasgow Warrriors / Falkirk)
11 Mike Crawley (Boroughmuir)

10 Harry Leonard (Captain) (Edinburgh Rugby)
9 Matthew Torrance (Ospreys)

1 Robin Hislop (Edinburgh Rugby / Boroughmuir)
2 Fergus Scott (Glasgow Warriors / Currie)
3 Alex Allan (Edinburgh Rugby / Loughborough Students)
4 Mitch Eadie (Bristol Rugby)
5 Andy Redmayne (Dundee HSFP)
6 Jamie Swanson (Boroughmuir)
7 Will Bordill (Sale Sharks)
8 Andrew Nagle (Jed-Forest)
16 George Turner (Edinburgh Rugby / Stewart’s Melville)
17 Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County)
18 Gavin Robertson (Dundee HSFP)
19 Adam Sinclair (Adam Sinclair)
20 Alex Henderson (Boroughmuir)
21 Gary Graham (Gala)
22 Murray McConnell (Glasgow Warriors / Ayr)
23 Tommy Allan (Western Province)