Young Scots Prepare For Action-Packed Season

Scotland under-20 will begin their preparations for an action-packed season with a three-day camp next month.

Some 40 players will be involved in the camp, which takes place between Monday 8 and Wednesday 10 October. A number of familiar faces in the squad return having featured in the shadow 2012 RBS 6 Nations and IRB Junior World Championship, including Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Will Bordill, Jonny Gray and Jamie Farndale.

New Scotland under-20 head coach, Sean Lineen, said: “We’ve been pestering every coach, development officer and rugby contact we have to help us identify as much talent and potential as possible.

This will be a good opportunity for these players to put their hand-up and show me what they’ve got.  It will also be a chance for them to improve their skills and abilities.

During the camp, players will work on intensive skills sessions and will be monitored closely with fitness testing.

Lineen continued: “We have four camps ahead of the RBS 6 Nations championship and a key element for me is that at all of them we work closely with clubs, and hopefully we can train with a different one each time.

“There are a lot of exciting players here and I’m really looking forward to getting started and working with them.”

Scotland under-20 players for October 2012 camp:

Forwards: *Russell Anderson (Gala), Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors EDP / Stirling County), *Chris Barnes (Glasgow Hawks), *Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County), Will Bordill (Sale Sharks), Callum Black (Edinburgh Accies), Philip Cringle (Edinburgh Rugby EDP / Stewart’s Melville), Rhys Davies (Currie), Tom Hancock (Edinburgh University), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors EDP / Currie), , Alex Henderson (Boroughmuir), Colin Hutton (Stirling County), Ruaridh Leishman (Stirling County), *James Malcolm (GHA), Jonny Matthews (Leeds), Calum McGuire  (Newcastle Falcons), Shawn Muir (Hawick), *D'arcy Rae (Ayr), Cameron Simpson (Edinburgh Accies), Adam Sinclair (Perpignan), *Cameron Turner (Aberdeen Grammar), Aaron Welsh (Edinburgh Accies), *Robbie Wilson (Boroughmuir), Calum Yetman (Loughborough Students).

Backs: *Chris Auld (Gala), Keith Buchan (Boroughmuir), Sam Chalmers (Melrose), Ben Cooper (Leeds), Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Rugby EDP / Edinburgh Accies), Alex Hagart (Aberdeen Grammar), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby EDP / Heriot’s), Damian Hoyland (Boroughmuir), Blair Hutchison (Loughborough Students),  JJ Kilmartin (Bath Rugby), Grant McConnell (Bath Rugby / Millfield), Cameron McKenzie Lawrie (Leeds), Sam Pecqueur (Edinburgh Accies), Ali Price (Bedford Blues), Scott Steele (Leicester Tigers), Ruaridh Young (Edinburgh Accies).

*Regional academy player supported by Institute of Sport network