Scotland 7s Named For HSBC Sevens World Series Opener

New Scotland 7s head coach, Phil Greening, has today unveiled his squad to compete at the opening tournament of the 2012/13 HSBC Sevens World Series on the Gold Coast, Australia.

He has named ten players from his pro-pool, with Colin Gregor returning as captain, and one club player, Ayr scrum-half Peter Jericevich, who has previously won six caps with Scotland 7s.

Greening said: “This first tournament will be a fact-finding mission and our chance to set our stall out and show what we’re trying to achieve.

“We’re constantly measuring our players on their strength, conditioning and skills and here we’ve got the players I believe to be excelling the most. Peter’s form, at the moment, is very good and he has earned his place for Australia.

I want to breed as much competition as possible in this squad, and have a deep player pool so everyone has to put up their hand and claim the shirt every time we travel.

Chris Dean, Michael Fedo, Rory Hughes, Mark Robertson, Andrew Turnbull, Michael Maltman, Colin Shaw, Alex Glashan and James Fleming will make-up the remainder of the squad that will fly out to Australia on Tuesday 2 October.

Greening will wait till the beginning of next week to name his 12th man once medical reviews have taken place over the weekend.

Peter Jericevich said: “I’ve always had a love for the game of sevens and have kept playing it over the past few years. I was over in New York this summer competing in the US National Sevens Series and feel that got me very fit.

“Since then I’ve felt the sharpest I have ever been playing with Ayr this season, but I know going out to Australia, adjusting to the climate and competing well, that the bigger challenge starts now.”

Scotland 7s will take-on Fiji (12.42pm local-time), Australia (4.20pm local-time) and Tonga (6.08pm local-time) in pool B on day one at the Gold Coast 7s, which takes place on Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 October.

Scotand 7s squad for the Gold Coast 7s: Chris Dean (Scotland 7s EDP), Michael Fedo (Scotland 7s), Rory Hughes (Scotland 7s EDP), *Peter Jericevich (Ayr), Colin Gregor (Scotland 7s) (captain), Mark Robertson (Scotland 7s), Andrew Turnbull (Scotland 7s), Michael Maltman (Scotland 7s), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s), Alex Glashan (Scotland 7s EDP), James Fleming (Scotland 7s), A N Other.

*sportscotland institute supported player



Notes to editors

The Gold Coast is nine hours ahead of BST