Tenth Club To Win Positive Coaching Scotland Award

An RBS East Regional Leagues Division 2 outfit have become the tenth club to earn one of Scotland’s most prestigious coaching awards, The Positive Coaching Scotland (PCS) accreditation in association with the Bill McLaren Foundation.

Forrester Rugby Club have worked hard over the past few months to ensure they are giving their children and youth players the best rugby opportunities to develop as players and as people in everyday life.

Brian Colyer, from Forrester, said: “The accreditation documents our commitment to our members and gives parents peace of mind, knowing their children will have fun in a safe and friendly environment.

“I think being accredited will help encourage more people to consider joining us. We’re not just a rugby club, our teams are not just teams, we are an extension of family, working together to develop youngsters through rugby.”

Beth Macleod from sportscotland said: “We congratulate Forrester RFC on receiving their PCS accreditation, they have clearly demonstrated how the programme can complement the values of the club and help shape the environment for young people to thrive through sport.”

Scottish Rugby’s PCS manager, Bosman du Plessis, said: “It’s exciting to see how Forrester formulated their club ethos and identity in such a unique way.  This should aid in their communication and implementation of this ethos, which will create a positive rugby environment to develop all players to be the best they can be in rugby and in life.”

The Positive Coaching Scotland programme in association with The Bill McLaren Foundation operates as a partnership between sportscotland, the Winning Scotland Foundation, the Bill McLaren Foundation and Scottish Rugby and has the main aims to build and sustain a strong and positive rugby culture in order to develop young rugby players and develop young people through the sport.  This programme forms part of sportscotland’s national roll out of the Positive Coaching Scotland programme through governing bodies and local authorities.

Forrester joins Alloa, Bishopton, Dunfermline, Duns, Ellon, Hillfoots, Langholm, Lasswade, and Stew-Mel Lions in winning the award.