Pyrgos Earns First Start For Scotland

Henry Pyrgos scoring against South Africa

Glasgow Warriors scrum-half, Henry Pyrgos, will make his first start for Scotland on Saturday against Tonga at Pittodrie.

With a lively performance from the bench and outstanding set-piece try against South Africa last week, the 23 year-old scrum-half is promoted to the number 9 jersey in only his third cap.

Pyrgos said: "I"m absolutely delighted to make my first start for Scotland. The last few weeks have been a whirlwind with getting selected for the squad, then getting my first cap and then my first try. I hope we can put in a big performance on Saturday and beat Tonga."

Also starting from the Glasgow Warriors fold are full-back Stuart Hogg, winger Sean Lamont, prop Ryan Grant and lock Al Kellock. _

Head coach, Andy Robinson, said: 'this weekend we have to put together an 80 minutes performance and build on the positive parts of our games that we showed in the last 30 minutes against South Africa and the second half against New Zealand.

"International rugby is about pressure and it's important that when you are under pressure that you are able to absorb it as opposed to conceding points as cheaply as we have done."

Robinson noted that Tonga have selected a strong side and praised the support from Scotland fans this month.

"It's great we are here in Aberdeen and that there's likely to be a sell-out crowd._ Thanks to all supporters for their backing._ The atmosphere at Murrayfield over the last fortnight has been the best that I"ve seen."

Scotland team (sponsor RBS) to play Tonga in the EMC Test at Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen on Saturday 24 November, kick-off 3pm

15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) 9 caps, 1 try, 5 points

14 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) 70 caps, 8 tries, 40 points
13 Max Evans (Castres) 31 caps, 3 tries, 15 points"
12 Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby) 6 caps"
11 Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby) 4 caps, 4 tries, 20 points

10 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby) 12 caps, 2 tries, 11 conversions, 17 penalties, 83 points
9 Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) 2 caps, 1 try, 5 points

1 Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps"
2 Scott Lawson (London Irish) 35 caps, 2 tries, 10 points"
3 Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors) 48 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
4 Richie Gray (Sale Sharks) 26 caps, 1 try, 5 points"
5 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) 46 caps, 1 try, 5 points"
6 Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan) 29 caps, 1 try, 5 points
7 Kelly Brown (Saracens) CAPTAIN 51 caps, 4 tries, 20 points"
8 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps


16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors) 38 caps, 1 try, 5 points
17 Kyle Traynor (Bristol Rugby) 3 caps
18 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby) 16 caps, 1 try, 5 points
19 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) uncapped"
20 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors) 40 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
21 Rory Lawson (Newcastle Falcons) 30 caps
22 Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby) uncapped"
23 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby) 37 caps, 1 try, 5 points
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)._ Assistant referees: George Clancy (Ireland) and Marius Mitrea (Italy). TMO: Gareth Simmonds (Wales).