Rugby World Cup Sevens Draw To Reward Series Points

The Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 Pool Allocation Draw will take place at Petroff Palace, Moscow, on February 28. A banded draw of qualified teams will be used for both the men's and women's RWC Sevens competition to be played in the Russian capital from June 28-30.

The men’s seeding takes into account the past two full HSBC Seven World Series seasons as well as the events in the current season up to the date of the draw.

For the men's competition, teams will be divided into six pools of four and play in a round-robin format over the first two days before progressing to the knock-out phase on the final day.

Rugby World Cup Limited Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “We have just concluded a very successful Rugby World Cup 2015 Pool Allocation Draw in London and now it’s RWC Sevens turn. The HSBC Sevens World Series is extremely competitive these days and the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series has already provided some close encounters with the playing strength of so many of the teams having changed dramatically since RWC Sevens 2009.

“Preparations for RWC Sevens 2013 in Moscow have been going well. Tickets are on sale, travel packages for overseas supporters are available and the teams are preparing.

"It looks like it’s going to be a great tournament in what is an exciting new location for top level international Rugby. The banding system for all qualified teams will reward consistency in performances and will provide an excitement for the draw.”

Qualified teams for RWC Sevens 2013

Men’s: Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Georgia, Hong Kong, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Tonga, Tunisia, USA, Wales and Zimbabwe. The final place will be taken by the winners of the South American Sevens Championship in Rio de Janeiro on February 23-24.