Scotland Club International Extended Squad For 2013 Matches

Players from across all ten RBS Premier Division clubs and two players from the RBS National League have been named in the 2013 extended Scotland Club International squad.

Hawick stand-off Rory Hutton and Watsonians full-back Rory Steele will join 34 players from Scottish Rugby’s top division with Ayr and Gala, first and second in the RBS Premier Division respectively, boasting the highest number of players, with seven and six respectively.

The team will play their Irish counterparts at home and the XV of France away this year, in their search to win both games for the first time. Last season, the side beat France 25-18 at Millbrae and then just missed out to Ireland 21-26 at the Old Belvedere in Dublin.

Scotland Club International head coach, Phil Leck, said: “I have watched as many Premiership matches as I can on video and the nominations from the clubs have been very positive. Coaches across the board have been honest and offered encouraging feedback about all the players we have been looking at.

“We will first work with an extended squad. I will explain my game plan to them and then we will do lots of match scenarios to prepare and see who executes that plan most effectively. It is also important to me that the players have freedom to express themselves and play with confidence.

“These matches are a massive honour for the lads and we hope a good crowd will get behind us at Millbrae for our game against Ireland. This squad plays an important part in players development and has has had success in the past, so I hope we can continue building on that.

“I’m really excited about the challenge ahead, coaching an international team is a massive honour. Assistant coach Graeme Young and team manager David Edge have been a big help, so far, with their knowledge and experience.”

Millbrae will once again be the Club International's fortress, having won their debut match at the west-coast ground last year, for their home match on Friday 8 March (kick-off 7.30pm) against the Ireland Club International. The two sides will also compete for the Dalriada Cup for the third time.

The Scotland Club International squad for 2013 is as follows: BACKS: Callum Anderson (Melrose), Ross Curle (Ayr), Jamie Forbes (Currie), Stuart Edwards (Stirling County), Danny Gilmour (Stirling County), Craig Gossman (Ayr), George Graham (Gala), Rory Hutton (Hawick), Dean Kelbrick (Ayr), Max Learmonth (Heriot’s), Murray McConnell (Ayr / Glasgow Warriors EDP), Lee Millar (Gala), Craig Robertson (Gala) Rory Steele (Watsonians) and Fraser Thomson (Melrose / Glasgow Warriors EDP). FORWARDS: Alex Allan (Edinburgh Accies / Edinburgh Rugby EDP), Fraser Brown (Heriot’s), Kevin Bryce (Heriot’s), Mark Cairns (Currie), Greg Campbell (Edinburgh Accies), Nick Cox (Ayr), Gary Graham (Gala), Jason Hill (Heriot’s), Robin Hislop (Boroughmuir / Edinburgh Rugby EDP), Gary Holborn (Melrose), George Hunter (Ayr / Glasgow Warriors EDP), Ewan McQuillin (Gala), Ross Miller (Melrose), Andrew Nagle (Melrose), Luke Pettie (Gala),  Andrew Redmayne (Dundee HSFP), Grant Runciman (Melrose), Scott Sutherland (Ayr), Jamie Swanson (Boroughmuir), Dan Teague (Edinburgh Accies) and Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Accies / Edinburgh Rugby EDP).

(Please note: EDP - Elite Development Player)