Murray and Strokosch return to Scotland squad

Murray was unavailable for reasons of his Christian faith, for Scotland’s last game – the victory over Ireland last month – while Strokosch has been sidelined since the facial injury he suffered in the Calcutta Cup contest at Twickenham.

Of those who were in the match-day 23 against Ireland only David Denton is absent , the back-row forward having sustained knee damage while on duty for his club, Edinburgh Rugby, in their RaboDirect PRO12 loss to the Scarlets at the weekend.


Ryan Wilson, the uncapped Glasgow Warriors No8, who led Scotland A to their win against England Saxons last month, is enlisted.

The Scotland team is due to be announced tomorrow.

Scotland squad: Backs: Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Castres), Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby), Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne, Ruaridh Jackson, Sean Kennedy (all Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Peter Murchie, Henry Pyrgos (all Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott, Tim Visser (both Edinburgh Rugby), Nikki Walker (Worcester Warriors) and Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors).

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Sale Sharks), Ryan Grant, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Rob Harley, Alastair Kellock, Moray Low, Pat MacArthur (all Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors), Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan), Jon Welsh and Ryan Wilson (both Glasgow Warriors)